Queen Ethelburga's Services Limited
Registered name: QUEEN ETHELBURGA'S SERVICES LIMITED
Part of Care & Recreation Holdings Limited groupQueen Ethelburga's Services Limited made £23.9m revenue and £2.5m profit in the year to 31 Aug 2025.
Queen Ethelburga's Services Limited’s revenue fell 3% to £23.9m in the year to 31 Aug 2025, with £2.5m profit and 9 employees. The company is classified under “combined facilities support activities” and is based in Ouseburn; we hold 4 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Ouseburn, Yorkshire and The Humber
- Age
- 40 yrs · since 1986
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently. From the filing: “The Collegiate Formation Limited”
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Aug 2022 | 31 Aug 2023 | 31 Aug 2024 | 31 Aug 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | ||||
| Revenue (turnover) | £16.6m | £19.8m | £24.6m | £23.9m |
| Cost of sales | £15.4m | £19.1m | £23.6m | £22.7m |
| Gross profit | £1.2m | £667k | £968k | £1.2m |
| Operating profit | £1.6m | £1.5m | — | — |
| Profit before tax | £2m | −£17m | −£2.6m | £3.4m |
| Profit after tax | £1.6m | −£17.8m | −£3.3m | £2.5m |
| Profit (best available) | £1.6m | −£17.8m | −£3.3m | £2.5m |
| Staff costs | £195k | £262k | £304k | £309k |
| Employees (average) | 7 | 9 | 9 | 9 |
| Ratios | ||||
| Profit margin | 9.4% | −89.8% | −13.6% | 10.4% |
| Gross margin | 7% | 3.4% | 3.9% | 5.1% |
| Revenue per employee | £2.4m | £2.2m | £2.7m | £2.7m |
| Profit per employee | £224k | −£2m | −£372k | £276k |
| Growth (year on year) | ||||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲19.3% | ▲24.2% | ▼2.9% |
| Profit growth | — | ▼1233% | — | — |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲28.6% | 0% | 0% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||||
| Cash at bank | £1.5m | £812k | £493k | £806k |
| Net assets | £26.6m | £8.8m | £5.5m | £7.9m |
| Fixed assets | £23.8m | £23.4m | £23m | £22.7m |
| Current assets | £50.2m | £28.1m | £25m | £28.8m |
| Debtors | £42.5k | £69.9k | £77.9k | £39.1k |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data May 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data May 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Aug 2025 | FullAccounts · bulk data May 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 10.4%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 5.1%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £2.7m
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £276k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 95%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 0.2%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▲46%
- Now £7.9m
- Cash at bank
- ▲63%
- Now £806k
- Headcount
- 0%
- Now 9
- Deferred income
- —
- Now —
- Fixed assets
- ▼2%
- Now £22.7m
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Care & Recreation Holdings Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- The Collegiate Formation Limited75–100%
- Queen Ethelburga's Services Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Sister companies (9)
- Queen Ethelburga's College LimitedRev. £52.2m · Profit −£6.4m
- Entertainment and Leisure Insurance Services LimitedRev. £314k · Profit £37k
- Chapter House Preparatory School LimitedRev. — · Profit £3.7m
- Faculty of Queen Ethelburga's LimitedRev. — · Profit £15.5m
- Halcyon Court (Yorkshire) LtdFigures not disclosed
- KM School LimitedRev. — · Profit £5.8m
- Norban LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Queen Ethelburga's Collegiate LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Queen Ethelburga's International School LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- MSL Property Care Services LimitedHalifax · Combined facilities support activities
- Revenue
- £23.1m
- Profit
- £1.6m
- Staff
- 83
- Dma Maintenance LimitedRochester · Combined facilities support activities
- Revenue
- £22.7m
- Profit
- £816k
- Staff
- 103
- 24-7 FM LimitedKnutsford · Combined facilities support activities
- Revenue
- £26.9m
- Profit
- £1.5m
- Staff
- 43
- Bennett Hay LimitedReading · Combined facilities support activities
- Revenue
- £20.9m
- Profit
- £984k
- Staff
- 271
- Calber Facilities Management LimitedWantage · Combined facilities support activities
- Revenue
- £20.3m
- Profit
- £35.3k
- Staff
- 440
- H.F.L. Building Solutions LimitedManchester · Combined facilities support activities
- Revenue
- £19.2m
- Profit
- £262k
- Staff
- 131
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Aug 2025 (profit £2.5m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published May 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.