Uniserve Limited
Registered name: UNISERVE LIMITED
Part of GB Europe Holdings Limited groupUniserve Limited made £244m revenue and £22.8m profit in the year to 31 Dec 2024.
Uniserve Limited’s revenue grew 22% to £244m in the year to 31 Dec 2024, with £22.8m profit and 635 employees. The company is classified under “sea and coastal freight water transport” and is based in Upminster; we hold 4 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Upminster, London
- Age
- 42 yrs · since 1984
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently.
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Dec 2021 | 31 Dec 2022 | 31 Dec 2023 | 31 Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | ||||
| Revenue (turnover) | £1.4bn | £606m | £200m | £244m |
| Cost of sales | £1.1bn | £425m | £116m | £140m |
| Gross profit | £280m | £181m | £84m | £103m |
| Operating profit | £199m | £51.9m | £67.8m | £26.1m |
| Profit before tax | £200m | £35m | £57.5m | £20.2m |
| Profit after tax | £165m | £32.4m | £62.2m | £22.8m |
| Profit (best available) | £165m | £32.4m | £62.2m | £22.8m |
| Staff costs | £27m | £26m | £28m | £27.1m |
| Employees (average) | 426 | 584 | 664 | 635 |
| Ratios | ||||
| Profit margin | 11.9% | 5.3% | 31% | 9.3% |
| Gross margin | 20.1% | 29.9% | 41.9% | 42.4% |
| Revenue per employee | £3.3m | £1m | £302k | £384k |
| Profit per employee | £388k | £55.4k | £93.7k | £35.9k |
| Growth (year on year) | ||||
| Revenue growth | — | — | ▼66.9% | ▲21.6% |
| Profit growth | — | — | ▲92.2% | ▼63.4% |
| Headcount growth | — | — | ▲13.7% | ▼4.4% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||||
| Cash at bank | £13.4m | £8.5m | £6.4m | £21.5m |
| Net assets | £240m | £272m | £331m | £353m |
| Fixed assets | £79.3m | £50.2m | £26.7m | £17.4m |
| Current assets | £803m | £653m | — | — |
| Debtors | £97.9m | £46m | £19.4m | £38.4m |
| Deferred income | £394m | £48.6m | £28m | £15.9m |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Feb 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Feb 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Jan 2025 | FullAccounts · bulk data Jan 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 9.3%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 42.4%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £384k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £35.9k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 7.1%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 6.5%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 15.7%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▲7%
- Now £353m
- Cash at bank
- ▲236%
- Now £21.5m
- Headcount
- ▼4%
- Now 635
- Deferred income
- ▼43%
- Now £15.9m
- Fixed assets
- ▼35%
- Now £17.4m
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- GB Europe Holdings Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- GB Global Management Limited75–100%
- Uniserve Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Sister companies (15)
- James Kemball LimitedRev. £43.2m · Profit £2.4m
- Commercial Platforms International LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Cpi Media Holdings LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Cromwell Manor Functions LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Customs Insights Consultancy LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Efret LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Eurotrade Fulfilment LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Metro Global Holdings LimitedRev. — · Profit £845k
- One World Global Trade Management LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uniocean Lines LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uniserve (Europe) LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uniserve (Scotland) LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uniserve (U.K.) LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uogp LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Wilgo Freight Holdings LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Metro Shipping LimitedBirmingham · Sea and coastal freight water transport
- Revenue
- £170m
- Profit
- £15.6m
- Staff
- 189
- Port of Felixstowe LimitedFelixstowe · Sea and coastal freight water transport
- Revenue
- £396m
- Profit
- £78.1m
- Staff
- 2,602
- Geest Line LimitedFareham · Sea and coastal freight water transport
- Revenue
- £87.7m
- Profit
- £7.6m
- Staff
- 29
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Dec 2024 (profit £22.8m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Jan 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.