BDP Spirit Limited
Registered name: BDP SPIRIT LIMITED
Part of Springfield Shipping Limited groupBDP Spirit Limited made £9.1m revenue and £3.7m profit in the year to 31 Dec 2023.
BDP Spirit Limited’s revenue fell 15% to £9.1m in the year to 31 Dec 2023, with £3.7m profit and 0 employees. The company is classified under “other business support service activities” and is based in Wembley; we hold 2 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Wembley, London
- Age
- 8 yrs · since 2018
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Pass-through vehicle. This looks like a holding, staffing or umbrella company. Its revenue and profit may largely pass through to or from other entities, so the figures may not reflect a standalone operating business. It is excluded from our opportunity lists.
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently. From the filing: “The Company is a wholly owned subsidiary of Union Maritime Limited (UML), whose registered office is at Portland House, 69-71 Wembley Hill Road, Middlesex, England, HA9 8BU. UML is jointly owned by So”
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Dec 2022 | 31 Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | ||
| Revenue (turnover) | £10.7m | £9.1m |
| Cost of sales | £4m | £2.3m |
| Gross profit | £6.8m | £6.8m |
| Operating profit | £3.6m | £4.1m |
| Profit before tax | £3.2m | £3.7m |
| Profit after tax | £3.2m | £3.7m |
| Profit (best available) | £3.2m | £3.7m |
| Employees (average) | 0 | 0 |
| Ratios | ||
| Profit margin | 29.4% | 41.1% |
| Gross margin | 63% | 74.9% |
| Growth (year on year) | ||
| Revenue growth | — | ▼14.9% |
| Profit growth | — | ▲18.9% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||
| Cash at bank | £1.1m | £3.3m |
| Net assets | £3.1m | £5m |
| Fixed assets | £7.3m | £7.3m |
| Current assets | £2.9m | £3.6m |
| Debtors | £252k | £197k |
| Deferred income | £95.3k | £54.7k |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Sep 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Sep 2024 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 41.1%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 74.9%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- —
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- —
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 79.5%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 0.6%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 2.2%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▲63%
- Now £5m
- Cash at bank
- ▲210%
- Now £3.3m
- Headcount
- —
- Now 0
- Deferred income
- ▼43%
- Now £54.7k
- Fixed assets
- ▼1%
- Now £7.3m
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Springfield Shipping Limitedultimate parent50–75%
- Union Maritime Limited75–100%
- BDP Spirit Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Sister companies (109)
- Union Glory LimitedRev. £270m · Profit £35.1m
- Uml Tweed LimitedRev. £16.7m · Profit £6.4m
- Uml Severn LimitedRev. £16m · Profit £7.5m
- Uml Brunswick LimitedActive - Proposal to Strike offRev. £15m · Profit £15.8m
- Uml Mersey LimitedRev. £14.5m · Profit £5.2m
- Uml Sherlock LimitedRev. £13.7m · Profit £5.4m
- Uml Berners LimitedRev. £13.4m · Profit £5.7m
- Uml Bryanston LimitedRev. £10.7m · Profit £5m
- Uml Bondi LimitedRev. £9.9m · Profit £4.8m
- Uml Bedford LimitedRev. £9.5m · Profit £2.3m
- Uml Dart LimitedRev. £9.2m · Profit £2.7m
- Uml Chapel LimitedRev. £8.5m · Profit £3.8m
- Uml Weymouth LimitedRev. £8.1m · Profit £3m
- B Emerald LimitedActive - Proposal to Strike offRev. £6.9m · Profit £4.6m
- Uml Wimpole LimitedRev. £6.2m · Profit £2m
- Uml Eden LimitedActive - Proposal to Strike offRev. £5.5m · Profit £1.1m
- Uml Westminster LimitedRev. £5.3m · Profit £1.5m
- Uml Mayfair LimitedRev. £4.5m · Profit £1.1m
- Uml Balham LimitedRev. £4.3m · Profit £319k
- Uml Wigmore LimitedRev. £2.9m · Profit −£2.4m
- Oblue LimitedRev. £2.1m · Profit £479k
- Ostrider LimitedRev. £511k · Profit £623k
- Umlnb Holdings LimitedRev. £0 · Profit £343
- Balham Shipping LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Clion LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Eagle Maritime LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Holmes Shipping LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Marylebone Holdco LimitedFigures not disclosed
- P Energy LimitedRev. — · Profit −£4.6k
- Pinarello Shipping LimitedFigures not disclosed
- TMS Offshore LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Tune Chemical Tankers (UK) LimitedRev. — · Profit −£252k
- Uml Albert Park LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uml Alkebulan LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uml Annecy LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uml Avon LimitedActive - Proposal to Strike offFigures not disclosed
- Uml Baku LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uml Blandford LimitedRev. — · Profit −£39.3k
- Uml Bora LimitedRev. — · Profit −£2.6k
- Uml Brands Hatch LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uml Bromley LtdFigures not disclosed
- Uml Buran LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uml Chinook LimitedRev. — · Profit −£2.3k
- Uml Clyde LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uml Ebisu LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uml Evo LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uml Goodwood LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uml Grafton LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uml Green Eagle LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Uml Holmes LimitedFigures not disclosed
- +59 more
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Shopkeep.com LtdBelfast · Other business support service activities n.e.c.
- Revenue
- £9.1m
- Profit
- £468k
- Staff
- 116
- Kelton Engineering LimitedAberdeen · Other business support service activities n.e.c.
- Revenue
- £9.2m
- Profit
- £1.2m
- Staff
- 36
- SBD Automotive LtdMilton Keynes · Other business support service activities n.e.c.
- Revenue
- £9m
- Profit
- £503k
- Staff
- 47
- Supported Homes LimitedNewark · Other business support service activities n.e.c.
- Revenue
- £9.3m
- Profit
- £3.5m
- Staff
- 268
- Physiological Measurements LtdPlymouth · Other business support service activities n.e.c.
- Revenue
- £9.3m
- Profit
- £971k
- Staff
- 129
- LD Training Services LimitedStanmore · Other business support service activities n.e.c.
- Revenue
- £9.4m
- Profit
- £3.2m
- Staff
- 63
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Dec 2023 (profit £3.7m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Sep 2024. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.