Darby Investments Ltd
Registered name: DARBY INVESTMENTS LTD
Darby Investments Ltd made £25.8m revenue and £1.2m profit in the year to 30 Apr 2025. read from filing text
Darby Investments Ltd’s revenue grew 7% to £25.8m in the year to 30 Apr 2025, with £1.2m profit and 325 employees. The company is classified under “social work activities without accommodation for the elderly and disabled” and is based in Swindon; we hold 4 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Swindon, South West
- Age
- 5 yrs · since 2021
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Pass-through vehicle. This looks like a holding, staffing or umbrella company. Its revenue and profit may largely pass through to or from other entities, so the figures may not reflect a standalone operating business. It is excluded from our opportunity lists.
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 30 Apr 2022 | 30 Apr 2023 | 30 Apr 2024 | 30 Apr 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text |
| Profit & loss | ||||
| Revenue (turnover) | £19.2m | £19.5m | £24m | £25.8m |
| Cost of sales | £15.5m | £15.6m | £19.4m | £21.1m |
| Gross profit | £3.7m | £3.9m | £4.5m | £4.6m |
| Operating profit | £1.2m | £1.5m | £1.5m | £1.5m |
| Profit before tax | £1.2m | £1.5m | £1.5m | £1.5m |
| Profit after tax | £1.3m | £1.2m | £647k | £1.2m |
| Profit (best available) | £1.3m | £1.2m | £647k | £1.2m |
| Employees (average) | 354 | 336 | 325 | 325 |
| Ratios | ||||
| Profit margin | 6.8% | 6.2% | 2.7% | 4.7% |
| Gross margin | 19.1% | 19.9% | 18.8% | 18% |
| Revenue per employee | £54.1k | £58k | £73.7k | £79.2k |
| Profit per employee | £3.7k | £3.6k | £2k | £3.7k |
| Growth (year on year) | ||||
| Revenue growth | — | — | ▲23.1% | ▲7.5% |
| Profit growth | — | — | ▼46.2% | ▲86.9% |
| Headcount growth | — | — | ▼3.3% | 0% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||||
| Cash at bank | £40 | £23.4k | £38.4k | £38.4k |
| Net assets | £2m | £2.2m | £2.3m | £3m |
| Fixed assets | £2.9m | £3m | £3m | £3.6m |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Apr 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Apr 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Jan 2025 | FullAccounts · bulk data Jan 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 4.7%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 18%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £79.2k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £3.7k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 14.1%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- —
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▲29%
- Now £3m
- Cash at bank
- ▼0%
- Now £38.4k
- Headcount
- 0%
- Now 325
- Deferred income
- —
- Now —
- Fixed assets
- ▲20%
- Now £3.6m
Group structure
Subsidiaries (3)
- Darby Wealth LimitedRev. £0 · Profit £944k
- Darby Gate LtdFigures not disclosed
- Island Homecare LtdFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Swanton Community Services LimitedCoventry · Social work activities without accommodation for the elderly and disabled
- Revenue
- £23.9m
- Profit
- £2.6m
- Staff
- 775
- Supreme Care Services LimitedMorden · Social work activities without accommodation for the elderly and disabled
- Revenue
- £23.5m
- Profit
- £266k
- Staff
- 726
- Be Caring LtdNewcastle Upon Tyne · Social work activities without accommodation for the elderly and disabled
- Revenue
- £22.1m
- Profit
- £91.2k
- Staff
- 863
- Alpenbest LimitedStafford · Social work activities without accommodation for the elderly and disabled
- Revenue
- £13.8m
- Profit
- £417k
- Staff
- 338
- Alina Homecare LtdLeatherhead · Social work activities without accommodation for the elderly and disabled
- Revenue
- £12.9m
- Profit
- £1.4m
- Staff
- 856
- Care Relief Team LimitedLondon · Social work activities without accommodation for the elderly and disabled
- Revenue
- £12.3m
- Profit
- £1m
- Staff
- 472
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 30 Apr 2025 (profit £1.2m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Jan 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.