Smartway Pharmaceuticals Limited
Registered name: SMARTWAY PHARMACEUTICALS LIMITED
Part of Smartway PW. Holdings Limited groupSmartway Pharmaceuticals Limited made £177m revenue and £8m profit in the year to 31 Mar 2024.
Smartway Pharmaceuticals Limited’s revenue grew 21% to £177m in the year to 31 Mar 2024, with £8m profit and 103 employees. The company is classified under “wholesale of pharmaceutical goods” and is based in Leicester; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Leicester, East Midlands
- Age
- 13 yrs · since 2013
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently.
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Mar 2022 | 31 Mar 2023 | 31 Mar 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £135m | £146m | £177m |
| Cost of sales | £126m | £131m | £156m |
| Gross profit | £8.4m | £15m | £20.8m |
| Operating profit | £1.5m | £9.4m | £9.8m |
| Profit before tax | £1.6m | £9.4m | £9.9m |
| Profit after tax | £1.3m | £7.6m | £8m |
| Profit (best available) | £1.3m | £7.6m | £8m |
| Staff costs | £2.9m | £3.4m | £4.2m |
| Employees (average) | 81 | 97 | 103 |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | 0.9% | 5.2% | 4.5% |
| Gross margin | 6.2% | 10.3% | 11.7% |
| Revenue per employee | £1.7m | £1.5m | £1.7m |
| Profit per employee | £15.6k | £78.5k | £77.9k |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲8.5% | ▲21% |
| Profit growth | — | ▲501.8% | ▲5.4% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲19.8% | ▲6.2% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Cash at bank | £8.3m | £3.8m | £2.4m |
| Net assets | £39.9m | £17.5m | £12m |
| Fixed assets | £574k | £862k | £931k |
| Current assets | £45.5m | £63.7m | £61.7m |
| Debtors | £21.5m | £38.5m | £36.3m |
| Deferred income | £48.5k | £3.5m | £131k |
| Source | Accounts · bulk data Dec 2023 | Accounts · bulk data Dec 2023 | FullAccounts · bulk data Jan 2025 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 4.5%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 11.7%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £1.7m
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £77.9k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 0.5%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 0.1%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 20.5%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▼32%
- Now £12m
- Cash at bank
- ▼37%
- Now £2.4m
- Headcount
- ▲6%
- Now 103
- Deferred income
- ▼96%
- Now £131k
- Fixed assets
- ▲8%
- Now £931k
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Smartway PW. Holdings Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- Smartway Pharmaceuticals Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Sister companies (8)
- B2E Investment LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Overture Capital LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Pharmalink LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Primis Capital LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Smartway Investments LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Smartway Pharma LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Smartway Property LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Smartway Wholesale LtdFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Celltrion Healthcare United Kingdom LimitedUxbridge · Wholesale of pharmaceutical goods
- Revenue
- £156m
- Profit
- £3.8m
- Staff
- 32
- Movianto UK LimitedKempston · Wholesale of pharmaceutical goods
- Revenue
- £210m
- Profit
- £3.5m
- Staff
- 1,434
- Astute Healthcare LimitedHitchin · Wholesale of pharmaceutical goods
- Revenue
- £130m
- Profit
- £1.9m
- Staff
- 62
- Aspire Pharma LimitedGodalming · Wholesale of pharmaceutical goods
- Revenue
- £118m
- Profit
- £21.8m
- Staff
- 114
- Ethigen LimitedEast Kilbride · Wholesale of pharmaceutical goods
- Revenue
- £274m
- Profit
- £2.2m
- Staff
- 444
- Day Lewis Medical LimitedCroydon · Wholesale of pharmaceutical goods
- Revenue
- £281m
- Profit
- £14m
- Staff
- 241
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Mar 2024 (profit £8m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Jan 2025. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.