Oval Subsidiary 4 Limited
Registered name: OVAL SUBSIDIARY 4 LIMITED
Part of Chiltern Capital LLP groupOval Subsidiary 4 Limited made £2.3m revenue and £471k profit in the year to 31 Oct 2023.
Oval Subsidiary 4 Limited’s revenue fell 56% to £2.3m in the year to 31 Oct 2023, with £471k profit and 20 employees. The company is classified under “other telecommunications activities” and is based in Bath; we hold 2 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active - Proposal to Strike off
- Location
- Bath, South West
- Age
- 15 yrs · since 2011
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently.
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Oct 2022 | 31 Oct 2023 |
|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | ||
| Revenue (turnover) | £5.2m | £2.3m |
| Cost of sales | £2.2m | £1.2m |
| Gross profit | £3m | £1.2m |
| Operating profit | £902k | £315k |
| Profit before tax | £900k | £315k |
| Profit after tax | £1m | £471k |
| Profit (best available) | £1m | £471k |
| Employees (average) | 26 | 20 |
| Ratios | ||
| Profit margin | 19.4% | 20.3% |
| Gross margin | 57% | 49.5% |
| Revenue per employee | £201k | £116k |
| Profit per employee | £39.1k | £23.5k |
| Growth (year on year) | ||
| Revenue growth | — | ▼55.5% |
| Profit growth | — | ▼53.6% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▼23.1% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||
| Cash at bank | £375k | £20.5k |
| Net assets | £907k | £1.4m |
| Fixed assets | £575k | £31.5k |
| Current assets | £2.1m | £2.1m |
| Debtors | £169k | £8.9k |
| Deferred income | £1.3m | £762k |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data May 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data May 2024 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 20.3%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 49.5%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £116k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £23.5k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 1.4%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 32.8%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 0.4%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▲52%
- Now £1.4m
- Cash at bank
- ▼95%
- Now £20.5k
- Headcount
- ▼23%
- Now 20
- Deferred income
- ▼41%
- Now £762k
- Fixed assets
- ▼95%
- Now £31.5k
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Chiltern Capital LLPultimate parent75–100%
- Chiltern Capital Nominees (Oval) Limited50–75%
- Oval Holdco Ltd75–100%
- Oval Subsidiary 4 Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Sister companies (2)
- Oval Subsidiary 1 LimitedLiquidationFigures not disclosed
- Oval Subsidiary 3 LimitedActive - Proposal to Strike offFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Nous Data Insights (UK) LtdLondon · Other telecommunications activities
- Revenue
- £2.3m
- Profit
- £192k
- Staff
- 8
- Fone-Central LtdLondon · Other telecommunications activities
- Revenue
- £2.2m
- Profit
- £18.3k
- Staff
- 11
- Armstrong Bell LimitedBromsgrove · Other telecommunications activities
- Revenue
- £2.5m
- Profit
- £65.9k
- Staff
- 18
- Candio LimitedManchester · Other telecommunications activities
- Revenue
- £2.7m
- Profit
- £447k
- Staff
- 2
- Vismo LimitedNorth Yorkshire · Other telecommunications activities
- Revenue
- £1.9m
- Profit
- £99.6k
- Staff
- 19
- 2Dayuk LimitedLondon · Other telecommunications activities
- Revenue
- £1.8m
- Profit
- £83.2k
- Staff
- 0
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Oct 2023 (profit £471k), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published May 2024. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.