Future Biogas Limited
Registered name: FUTURE BIOGAS LIMITED
Part of 3i Infrastructure Plc groupFuture Biogas Limited made £97.2m revenue and a £3.3m loss in the year to 31 Mar 2026.
Future Biogas Limited’s revenue grew 75% to £97.2m in the year to 31 Mar 2026, with a loss of £3.3m and 178 employees. The company is classified under “repair of machinery” and is based in Guildford; we hold 2 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Guildford, South East
- Age
- 16 yrs · since 2010
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Pass-through vehicle. This looks like a holding, staffing or umbrella company. Its revenue and profit may largely pass through to or from other entities, so the figures may not reflect a standalone operating business. It is excluded from our opportunity lists.
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently.
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Mar 2025 | 31 Mar 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | ||
| Revenue (turnover) | £55.4m | £97.2m |
| Cost of sales | £33.4m | £46.7m |
| Gross profit | £22m | £50.6m |
| Profit before tax | −£13.5m | −£13.5m |
| Profit after tax | −£3.5m | −£3.3m |
| Profit (best available) | −£3.5m | −£3.3m |
| Staff costs | £15.6m | £14.6m |
| Employees (average) | 172 | 178 |
| Ratios | ||
| Profit margin | −6.3% | −3.4% |
| Gross margin | 39.7% | 52% |
| Revenue per employee | £322k | £546k |
| Profit per employee | −£20.3k | −£18.5k |
| Growth (year on year) | ||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲75.4% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲3.5% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||
| Cash at bank | £1m | £1.9m |
| Net assets | £1.9m | −£1.4m |
| Fixed assets | £113m | £135m |
| Current assets | £7.2m | £5.1m |
| Debtors | £510k | £200k |
| Cash from operations | £1.4m | £30.4m |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Sep 2026 | FullAccounts · bulk data Sep 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- −3.4%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 52%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £546k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- −£18.5k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 139.1%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 0.2%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▼172%
- Now −£1.4m
- Cash at bank
- ▲94%
- Now £1.9m
- Headcount
- ▲3%
- Now 178
- Deferred income
- —
- Now —
- Fixed assets
- ▲19%
- Now £135m
Group structure
Ownership chain
- 3i Infrastructure Plc (registered outside the UK register)ultimate parent75–100%
- Green Gas Holdco 1 Limited75–100%
- Green Gas Holdco 2 Limited75–100%
- Future Biogas Holdco Limited75–100%
- Future Biogas Midco Limited75–100%
- Future Biogas Bidco Limited75–100%
- Future Biogas Group Limited75–100%
- Future Biogas Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Subsidiaries (14)
- Ironstone Energy LimitedRev. £0 · Profit −£28k
- Ad Holdco 1 LimitedRev. — · Profit £2.1m
- Bawtry Hub Clamp LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Beckby Biogas LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Bluestone Biogas LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Burton Agnes Renewables LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Carrstone Renewables LtdFigures not disclosed
- Future Biogas Systems LtdFigures not disclosed
- Heath Farm Energy LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Little Oak Biogas LtdFigures not disclosed
- Meridian Biogas LtdFigures not disclosed
- Moor Bio-Energy LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Riccall Renewables LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Ridge Road Energy LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Knapp U.K. LimitedChalgrove · Repair of machinery
- Revenue
- £109m
- Profit
- £2.8m
- Staff
- 308
- Hunt Forest Group LimitedNR Stockbridge · Repair of machinery
- Revenue
- £113m
- Profit
- £1.5m
- Staff
- 187
- Rainham Industrial Services LimitedBasildon · Repair of machinery
- Revenue
- £116m
- Profit
- £8.6m
- Staff
- —
- Valmet LimitedRossendale · Repair of machinery
- Revenue
- £70.3m
- Profit
- £3.5m
- Staff
- 146
- James Gordon LimitedRepair of machinery
- Revenue
- £60.7m
- Profit
- £868k
- Staff
- 103
- P V Dobson LimitedKendal · Repair of machinery
- Revenue
- £56.1m
- Profit
- £998k
- Staff
- 81
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Mar 2026 (profit −£3.3m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Sep 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.