Brook Hotels No. 1 Limited
Registered name: BROOK HOTELS NO. 1 LIMITED
Part of Brook Hotels Group Limited groupBrook Hotels No. 1 Limited made £3.3m revenue and a £433k loss in the year to 25 Mar 2025.
Brook Hotels No. 1 Limited’s revenue fell 7% to £3.3m in the year to 25 Mar 2025, with a loss of £433k and 64 employees. The company is classified under “hotels and similar accommodation” and is based in Chester; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Chester, North West
- Age
- 18 yrs · since 2008
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently.
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 25 Mar 2023 | 25 Mar 2024 | 25 Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £3.1m | £3.5m | £3.3m |
| Cost of sales | £1.9m | £1.8m | £1.7m |
| Gross profit | £1.2m | £1.7m | £1.5m |
| Operating profit | £219k | £634k | £389k |
| Profit before tax | £235k | £373k | −£454k |
| Profit after tax | £193k | £325k | −£433k |
| Profit (best available) | £193k | £325k | −£433k |
| Staff costs | £1.3m | £1.2m | £1.2m |
| Employees (average) | 65 | 69 | 64 |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | 6.2% | 9.3% | −13.3% |
| Gross margin | 39.4% | 49.6% | 46.4% |
| Revenue per employee | £48.4k | £51k | £50.9k |
| Profit per employee | £3k | £4.7k | −£6.8k |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲11.8% | ▼7.4% |
| Profit growth | — | ▲68.2% | ▼233.2% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲6.2% | ▼7.2% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Cash at bank | £4.7k | £18.9k | £22k |
| Net assets | £344k | £669k | £235k |
| Fixed assets | £8.6m | £8.5m | £5.7m |
| Current assets | £153k | £1.9m | £2.3m |
| Debtors | £38k | £116k | £112k |
| Deferred income | £253k | £206k | £230k |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Mar 2025 | FullAccounts · bulk data Mar 2025 | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2025 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- −13.3%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 46.4%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £50.9k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- −£6.8k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 174.9%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 7.1%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 3.4%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▼65%
- Now £235k
- Cash at bank
- ▲17%
- Now £22k
- Headcount
- ▼7%
- Now 64
- Deferred income
- ▲12%
- Now £230k
- Fixed assets
- ▼33%
- Now £5.7m
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Brook Hotels Group Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- Brook Hotels No. 1 Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Sister companies (4)
- Kingston Lodge Hotel LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Lines Hotels LtdFigures not disclosed
- The Mollington Hotel & Spa LimitedFigures not disclosed
- The Whipper-in Hotel LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- NO.15 Great Pulteney LtdBath · Hotels and similar accommodation
- Revenue
- £3.2m
- Profit
- £244k
- Staff
- 55
- Duncan and Griffin Co LimitedOmagh · Hotels and similar accommodation
- Revenue
- £3.2m
- Profit
- £40.3k
- Staff
- 88
- Berry Head Hotel LimitedNewham Road Truro · Hotels and similar accommodation
- Revenue
- £3.3m
- Profit
- £368k
- Staff
- 66
- Eventdetail LimitedCowbridge · Hotels and similar accommodation
- Revenue
- £3.2m
- Profit
- £312k
- Staff
- 84
- Nunsmere LimitedTarporley · Hotels and similar accommodation
- Revenue
- £3.1m
- Profit
- £15.3k
- Staff
- 71
- Gorse Hill Hotel LimitedLondon · Hotels and similar accommodation
- Revenue
- £3.4m
- Profit
- £518k
- Staff
- 96
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 25 Mar 2025 (profit −£433k), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Dec 2025. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.