Colloids Limited
Registered name: COLLOIDS LIMITED
Colloids Limited made £82.7m revenue and £2.9m profit in the year to 31 Dec 2025.
Colloids Limited’s revenue fell 4% to £82.7m in the year to 31 Dec 2025, with £2.9m profit and 315 employees. The company is classified under “manufacture of plastics in primary forms” and is based in Kirkby; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Kirkby, North West
- Age
- 22 yrs · since 2004
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Dec 2023 | 31 Dec 2024 | 31 Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £88.2m | £86.6m | £82.7m |
| Cost of sales | −£69.7m | −£68.7m | −£65.4m |
| Gross profit | £18.5m | £17.9m | £17.3m |
| Operating profit | £6.4m | £6.1m | £4.3m |
| Profit before tax | £6.2m | £5.9m | £4.1m |
| Profit after tax | £4.7m | £4.3m | £2.9m |
| Profit (best available) | £4.7m | £4.3m | £2.9m |
| Employees (average) | 297 | 300 | 315 |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | 5.3% | 4.9% | 3.5% |
| Gross margin | 21% | 20.7% | 21% |
| Revenue per employee | £297k | £289k | £263k |
| Profit per employee | £15.7k | £14.3k | £9.1k |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▼1.8% | ▼4.5% |
| Profit growth | — | ▼8% | ▼33% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲1% | ▲5% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Net assets | — | — | — |
| Source | Accounts · bulk data Apr 2025 | Accounts · bulk data Apr 2025 | Accounts · bulk data Apr 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 3.5%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 21%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £263k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £9.1k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- —
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- —
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- —
- Now —
- Cash at bank
- —
- Now —
- Headcount
- ▲5%
- Now 315
- Deferred income
- —
- Now —
- Fixed assets
- —
- Now —
Group structure
Subsidiaries (4)
- Douglas Baker Plastics LimitedFigures not disclosed
- P.W. Hall LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Performance Masterbatches LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Tosaf UK LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Polystar Plastics LimitedNortham · Manufacture of plastics in primary forms
- Revenue
- £54.4m
- Profit
- £2.6m
- Staff
- 252
- Rutland a Topco LimitedLondon · Manufacture of plastics in primary forms
- Revenue
- £52.7m
- Profit
- £3.1m
- Staff
- —
- Benvic Dugdale LimitedWest Yorkshire · Manufacture of plastics in primary forms
- Revenue
- £37.7m
- Profit
- £4.1m
- Staff
- 104
- Toray Advanced Composites UK LtdNottingham · Manufacture of plastics in primary forms
- Revenue
- £37.3m
- Profit
- £6.5m
- Staff
- 103
- Atlantic Plastics LimitedBridgend · Manufacture of plastics in primary forms
- Revenue
- £30.3m
- Profit
- £3.5m
- Staff
- 155
- Novares Peterlee LimitedPeterlee · Manufacture of plastics in primary forms
- Revenue
- £27.7m
- Profit
- £4.8m
- Staff
- 85
Sources
Latest figures from accounts for the year to 31 Dec 2025 (profit £2.9m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Apr 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.