Hilco London Limited
Registered name: HILCO LONDON LIMITED
Part of Orix Corporation groupHilco London Limited made £70.8m revenue and £2m profit in the year to 28 Dec 2024.
Hilco London Limited’s revenue fell 31% to £70.8m in the year to 28 Dec 2024, with £2m profit and 586 employees. The company is classified under “activities of head offices” and is based in London; we hold 4 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- London
- Age
- 26 yrs · since 2000
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Key figures
Financial history
| Year to | 30 Dec 2022 | 28 Dec 2023 | 30 Dec 2023 | 28 Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | ||||
| Revenue (turnover) | £79.3m | £103m | £103m | £70.8m |
| Cost of sales | −£58.5m | −£65.3m | −£65.3m | −£48.9m |
| Gross profit | £20.8m | £37.8m | £37.8m | £21.9m |
| Operating profit | £7.3m | −£106k | −£106k | −£3.5m |
| Profit before tax | £9.3m | £8.9m | £8.9m | £3.9m |
| Profit after tax | £7.2m | £5.3m | £5.3m | £2m |
| Profit (best available) | £7.2m | £5.3m | £5.3m | £2m |
| Employees (average) | 662 | 646 | 646 | 586 |
| Ratios | ||||
| Profit margin | 9.1% | 5.1% | 5.1% | 2.8% |
| Gross margin | 26.2% | 36.6% | 36.6% | 30.9% |
| Revenue per employee | £120k | £160k | £160k | £121k |
| Profit per employee | £10.9k | £8.2k | £8.2k | £3.4k |
| Growth (year on year) | ||||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲30% | — | ▼31.3% |
| Profit growth | — | ▼26.1% | — | ▼62.8% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▼2.4% | — | ▼9.3% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||||
| Net assets | — | — | — | — |
| Source | Accounts · bulk data Sep 2024 | Accounts · bulk data Sep 2025 | Accounts · bulk data Sep 2024 | Accounts · bulk data Sep 2025 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 2.8%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 30.9%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £121k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £3.4k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- —
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- —
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- —
- Now —
- Cash at bank
- —
- Now —
- Headcount
- ▼9%
- Now 586
- Deferred income
- —
- Now —
- Fixed assets
- —
- Now —
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Orix Corporation (registered outside the UK register)ultimate parent50–75%
- Hilco London Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Subsidiaries (11)
- British Trimmings LimitedLiquidationFigures not disclosed
- Douglas-Fir GP LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Hilco Capital LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Huk 107 LimitedFigures not disclosed
- McCall Pattern Company LimitedFigures not disclosed
- MCDH GP LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Rowan GP I LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Simplicity LimitedIn AdministrationFigures not disclosed
- Trillium GP LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Valco GP II LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Valco GP III LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Sources
Latest figures from accounts for the year to 28 Dec 2024 (profit £2m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Sep 2025. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.