The Tyre Store Limited
Registered name: THE TYRE STORE LIMITED
Part of Malvern Tyres Holdings Limited groupThe Tyre Store Limited made £19.6m revenue and £2.2m profit in the year to 30 Nov 2024.
The Tyre Store Limited’s revenue grew 18% to £19.6m in the year to 30 Nov 2024, with £2.2m profit and 125 employees. The company is classified under “retail trade of motor vehicle parts and accessories” and is based in Gloucester; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Gloucester, South West
- Age
- 27 yrs · since 1999
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently.
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Oct 2022 | 31 Oct 2023 | 30 Nov 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £13.9m | £16.7m | £19.6m |
| Cost of sales | £7.1m | £8.8m | £10.2m |
| Gross profit | £6.9m | £7.8m | £9.4m |
| Operating profit | £332k | £1m | £637k |
| Profit before tax | £317k | £1m | £2.5m |
| Profit after tax | £246k | £773k | £2.2m |
| Profit (best available) | £246k | £773k | £2.2m |
| Staff costs | £3.1m | £3.4m | £4.3m |
| Employees (average) | 120 | 120 | 125 |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | 1.8% | 4.6% | 11.2% |
| Gross margin | 49.3% | 46.9% | 48.1% |
| Revenue per employee | £116k | £139k | £157k |
| Profit per employee | £2.1k | £6.4k | £17.6k |
| Cash conversion | −125.8% | −142.9% | −510.5% |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲19.6% | ▲17.6% |
| Profit growth | — | ▲213.7% | ▲184.8% |
| Headcount growth | — | 0% | ▲4.2% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Cash at bank | £1m | £1.8m | £0 |
| Net assets | £3m | £3.7m | £5.9m |
| Fixed assets | £2.4m | £2.7m | £412k |
| Current assets | £3.4m | £4.4m | £9.6m |
| Debtors | £239k | £232k | £447k |
| Deferred income | £110k | £93.7k | £55.4k |
| Cash from operations | −£418k | −£1.4m | −£3.3m |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Jan 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Jan 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Aug 2025 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 11.2%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 48.1%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £157k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £17.6k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- −510.5%
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 2.1%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 0.3%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 2.3%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▲57%
- Now £5.9m
- Cash at bank
- ▼100%
- Now £0
- Headcount
- ▲4%
- Now 125
- Deferred income
- ▼41%
- Now £55.4k
- Fixed assets
- ▼85%
- Now £412k
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Malvern Tyres Holdings Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- The Tyre Group Holdings Limited75–100%
- The Tyre Store Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Subsidiaries (2)
- Just Mobile Tyres LtdFigures not disclosed
- Just Tyres LimitedFigures not disclosed
Sister companies (5)
- County Tyre (Holdings) Limited(The)Rev. £41.2m · Profit −£1.1m
- Malvern Tyres (Wholesale) LimitedRev. £27.6m · Profit £162k
- King David Tyres LimitedRev. £17.6m · Profit £439k
- HC 1113 LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Value Tyres.co.uk LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Trailer Resources LimitedHemel Hempstead · Retail trade of motor vehicle parts and accessories
- Revenue
- £18.1m
- Profit
- £967k
- Staff
- 2,026
- Cooper Bros Ltd.Wishaw · Retail trade of motor vehicle parts and accessories
- Revenue
- £18.1m
- Profit
- £265k
- Staff
- 63
- Kerr's Tyres LimitedAntrim · Retail trade of motor vehicle parts and accessories
- Revenue
- £17.9m
- Profit
- £675k
- Staff
- 123
- Highland Motor Parts LimitedInverness · Retail trade of motor vehicle parts and accessories
- Revenue
- £16.2m
- Profit
- £2.5m
- Staff
- 75
- Autoparts & Diagnostics LimitedTewkesbury · Retail trade of motor vehicle parts and accessories
- Revenue
- £24.8m
- Profit
- £1.6m
- Staff
- 157
- N.e. Truck Spares LimitedHoughton Le Spring · Retail trade of motor vehicle parts and accessories
- Revenue
- £24.8m
- Profit
- £424k
- Staff
- 88
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 30 Nov 2024 (profit £2.2m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Aug 2025. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.