Ellis Brigham Limited
Registered name: ELLIS BRIGHAM LIMITED
Part of Ellis Brigham Holdings Limited groupEllis Brigham Limited made £24.6m revenue and a £642k loss in the year to 30 Jun 2025. read from filing text
Ellis Brigham Limited’s revenue grew 4% to £24.6m in the year to 30 Jun 2025, with a loss of £642k and 326 employees. The company is classified under “retail sale of clothing in specialised stores” and is based in Manchester; we hold 4 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Manchester, North West
- Age
- 41 yrs · since 1985
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently.
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 30 Jun 2022 | 30 Jun 2023 | 30 Jun 2024 | 30 Jun 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text |
| Profit & loss | ||||
| Revenue (turnover) | £18.9m | £22m | £23.6m | £24.6m |
| Cost of sales | £11.2m | £12.7m | £14.1m | £14.6m |
| Gross profit | — | £9.3m | £9.6m | £10.1m |
| Operating profit | — | −£389k | −£315k | −£632k |
| Profit before tax | £681k | −£382k | −£299k | −£610k |
| Profit after tax | £567k | −£312k | −£320k | −£642k |
| Profit (best available) | £567k | −£312k | −£320k | −£642k |
| Staff costs | £3.6m | £4.1m | £4.8m | £5.3m |
| Employees (average) | 165 | 182 | 208 | 326 |
| Ratios | ||||
| Profit margin | 3% | −1.4% | −1.4% | −2.6% |
| Gross margin | — | 42.3% | 40.6% | 40.8% |
| Revenue per employee | £114k | £121k | £114k | £75.5k |
| Profit per employee | £3.4k | −£1.7k | −£1.5k | −£2k |
| Growth (year on year) | ||||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲16.6% | ▲7.4% | ▲4.1% |
| Profit growth | — | ▼154.9% | — | — |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲10.3% | ▲14.3% | ▲56.7% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||||
| Cash at bank | £403k | £555k | £347k | £293k |
| Net assets | −£8.8k | −£321k | −£641k | −£1.3m |
| Fixed assets | £419k | £344k | £292k | £542k |
| Current assets | £2.2m | £2.2m | £2.2m | £2.5m |
| Debtors | £1.8m | £1.7m | £0 | £2.1k |
| Deferred income | £1.1m | £1m | £722k | £565k |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Mar 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Mar 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Mar 2025 | FullAccounts · bulk data Mar 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- −2.6%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 40.8%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £75.5k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- −£2k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 2.2%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 2.3%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 0%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- —
- Now −£1.3m
- Cash at bank
- ▼16%
- Now £293k
- Headcount
- ▲57%
- Now 326
- Deferred income
- ▼22%
- Now £565k
- Fixed assets
- ▲86%
- Now £542k
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Ellis Brigham Holdings Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- Ellis Brigham Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Sister companies (15)
- Ellis Brigham Mountain Sports LimitedRev. £31.2m · Profit £471k
- Eb Covent Garden LtdFigures not disclosed
- Eb2003 LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Eb2092 LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Ellis Brigham (Meadowhall) LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Ellis Brigham Leases LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Ellis Brigham Onc 28 LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Ellis Brigham Onc 38 LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Ellis Brigham Property Holdings LimitedRev. — · Profit £594k
- Ellis Brigham Tamworth LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Outsiders Store Cdy LtdFigures not disclosed
- Outsiders Store LtdFigures not disclosed
- Ski Clobber LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Wisdom & Effort Retail LtdFigures not disclosed
- Wisdom and Effort LtdFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Kiltane LimitedGlasgow · Retail sale of clothing in specialised stores
- Revenue
- £25m
- Profit
- £4.6m
- Staff
- 140
- N. Peal (Retail) LimitedSkipton · Retail sale of clothing in specialised stores
- Revenue
- £25.3m
- Profit
- £2.4m
- Staff
- 80
- Reformation UK, LtdLondon · Retail sale of clothing in specialised stores
- Revenue
- £23.6m
- Profit
- £184k
- Staff
- 74
- Schoolblazer LimitedPeterborough · Retail sale of clothing in specialised stores
- Revenue
- £25.7m
- Profit
- £2.5m
- Staff
- 80
- Guess U.K. LimitedLewes · Retail sale of clothing in specialised stores
- Revenue
- £25.9m
- Profit
- £317k
- Staff
- 274
- Holland Cooper Clothing LimitedCheltenham · Retail sale of clothing in specialised stores
- Revenue
- £26.7m
- Profit
- £4.2m
- Staff
- 61
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 30 Jun 2025 (profit −£642k), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Mar 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.