British Harlequin PLC
Registered name: BRITISH HARLEQUIN PLC
Part of Hestiafloor 2 Holding UK Limited groupBritish Harlequin PLC made £57.8k profit in the year to 31 Dec 2024 (revenue not disclosed).
British Harlequin PLC reported £57.8k profit in the year to 31 Dec 2024, down 84% on the year before; its revenue was not disclosed. It had 82 employees. The company is classified under “floor and wall covering” and is based in Tunbridge Wells; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Tunbridge Wells, South East
- Age
- 47 yrs · since 1979
- Type
- Public Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently.
Key figures
This company published its profit but not its turnover, so revenue and margins are not disclosed. We never estimate them.
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Dec 2022 | 31 Dec 2023 | 31 Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text | Profit only |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £18.5m | £20.1m | — |
| Cost of sales | £11.4m | £11.6m | — |
| Gross profit | £7m | £8.5m | — |
| Operating profit | £422k | £659k | — |
| Profit before tax | £373k | £554k | — |
| Profit after tax | £237k | £367k | £57.8k |
| Profit (best available) | £237k | £367k | £57.8k |
| Employees (average) | 80 | 84 | 82 |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | 1.3% | 1.8% | — |
| Gross margin | 38.1% | 42.2% | — |
| Revenue per employee | £231k | £239k | — |
| Profit per employee | £3k | £4.4k | £705 |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲8.9% | — |
| Profit growth | — | ▲54.9% | ▼84.3% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲5% | ▼2.4% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Cash at bank | £293k | £750k | £494k |
| Net assets | £7.2m | £7.9m | £5.2m |
| Fixed assets | £3.6m | £4.6m | £3.2m |
| Current assets | £7.7m | £7.9m | £6.9m |
| Debtors | £503k | £375k | £692k |
| Deferred income | £339k | £267k | £317k |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Jul 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Jul 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Jun 2025 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- —
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- —
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- —
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £705
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- —
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- —
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▼35%
- Now £5.2m
- Cash at bank
- ▼34%
- Now £494k
- Headcount
- ▼2%
- Now 82
- Deferred income
- ▲19%
- Now £317k
- Fixed assets
- ▼30%
- Now £3.2m
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Hestiafloor 2 Holding UK Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- British Harlequin PLCthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Subsidiaries (3)
- Marley Dance Floors LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Stagestep LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Theatre Flooring LimitedFigures not disclosed
Sister companies (1)
- Genesis Brands LimitedRev. — · Profit −£113k
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Nra Roofing & Flooring Services LimitedIlkeston · Floor and wall covering
- Revenue
- £50m
- Profit
- £3.6m
- Staff
- 78
- Saint Flooring LimitedWinsford · Floor and wall covering
- Revenue
- £22m
- Profit
- £3.2m
- Staff
- 93
- Curtis Moore (Cladding Systems) LimitedGlasgow · Floor and wall covering
- Revenue
- £25.2m
- Profit
- £1.6m
- Staff
- 39
- Kemtile LimitedBristol · Floor and wall covering
- Revenue
- £21.3m
- Profit
- £1.4m
- Staff
- 51
- Crown Flooring LimitedWarrington · Floor and wall covering
- Revenue
- £19.1m
- Profit
- £1.4m
- Staff
- 126
- Active Flooring Solutions LimitedLiverpool · Floor and wall covering
- Revenue
- £16.6m
- Profit
- £1.2m
- Staff
- 41
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Dec 2024 (profit £57.8k), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Jun 2025. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.