Compass Building and Construction Services Ltd
Registered name: COMPASS BUILDING AND CONSTRUCTION SERVICES LTD
Part of Combaist Limited groupCompass Building and Construction Services Ltd made £38.4m revenue and £2.3m profit in the year to 30 Sep 2025. read from filing text
Compass Building and Construction Services Ltd’s revenue fell 17% to £38.4m in the year to 30 Sep 2025, with £2.3m profit and 128 employees. The company is classified under “construction of commercial buildings” and is based in Inverness; we hold 2 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Inverness, Scotland
- Age
- 17 yrs · since 2009
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently. From the filing: “The parent company of Compass Building and Construction Services Ltd is Compass Newco Limited.”
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 30 Sep 2024 | 30 Sep 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text |
| Profit & loss | ||
| Revenue (turnover) | £46.1m | £38.4m |
| Cost of sales | £40.2m | £32.6m |
| Gross profit | £5.9m | £5.7m |
| Operating profit | £3m | £2.6m |
| Profit before tax | £3.3m | £3.1m |
| Profit after tax | £2.5m | £2.3m |
| Profit (best available) | £2.5m | £2.3m |
| Employees (average) | 136 | 128 |
| Ratios | ||
| Profit margin | 5.4% | 6.1% |
| Gross margin | 12.8% | 14.9% |
| Revenue per employee | £339k | £300k |
| Profit per employee | £18.2k | £18.2k |
| Growth (year on year) | ||
| Revenue growth | — | ▼16.8% |
| Profit growth | — | ▼5.8% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▼5.9% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||
| Cash at bank | £8.6m | £13.7m |
| Net assets | £9.5m | £11.2m |
| Fixed assets | £2.9m | £3m |
| Current assets | £24.2m | £25.5m |
| Debtors | £5.8m | £6.5m |
| Deferred income | £9.1m | — |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Feb 2026 | FullAccounts · bulk data Feb 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 6.1%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 14.9%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £300k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £18.2k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 7.7%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 17%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▲18%
- Now £11.2m
- Cash at bank
- ▲59%
- Now £13.7m
- Headcount
- ▼6%
- Now 128
- Deferred income
- —
- Now —
- Fixed assets
- ▲2%
- Now £3m
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Combaist Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- Compass Newco Limited75–100%
- Compass Building and Construction Services Ltdthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Sister companies (2)
- Compass Integrated Services LtdFigures not disclosed
- Orbis Services LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Borras Construction Ltd.ST. Albans · Construction of commercial buildings
- Revenue
- £38.3m
- Profit
- £245k
- Staff
- 88
- D B Building Contracts LtdBallymena · Construction of commercial buildings
- Revenue
- £38.5m
- Profit
- £2.3m
- Staff
- 48
- Tci (GB) LtdBarnstaple · Construction of commercial buildings
- Revenue
- £38.6m
- Profit
- £2.6m
- Staff
- 57
- Ryebridge LimitedLuton · Construction of commercial buildings
- Revenue
- £38.1m
- Profit
- £570k
- Staff
- 36
- Mypad 2020 LimitedDerby · Construction of commercial buildings
- Revenue
- £38.7m
- Profit
- £1.5m
- Staff
- 52
- Ganson UK LtdLeeds · Construction of commercial buildings
- Revenue
- £38.9m
- Profit
- £171k
- Staff
- 19
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 30 Sep 2025 (profit £2.3m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Feb 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.