Cruden Investments Limited
Registered name: CRUDEN INVESTMENTS LIMITED
Part of Kairos 2025 Holdings Limited groupCruden Investments Limited made £90.2m revenue and £2m profit in the year to 31 Mar 2025.
Cruden Investments Limited’s revenue fell 27% to £90.2m in the year to 31 Mar 2025, with £2m profit and 272 employees. The company is classified under “activities of head offices” and is based in Edinburgh; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Edinburgh
- Age
- 59 yrs · since 1967
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Key figures
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Mar 2023 | 31 Mar 2024 | 31 Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £168m | £124m | £90.2m |
| Cost of sales | −£166m | −£115m | −£83.1m |
| Gross profit | £1.9m | £9.6m | £7.1m |
| Operating profit | −£12.2m | £210k | £2.1m |
| Profit before tax | −£11.7m | £834k | £2.3m |
| Profit after tax | −£8.9m | £784k | £2m |
| Profit (best available) | −£8.9m | £784k | £2m |
| Employees (average) | 507 | 344 | 272 |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | −5.3% | 0.6% | 2.2% |
| Gross margin | 1.1% | 7.8% | 7.9% |
| Revenue per employee | £330k | £361k | £332k |
| Profit per employee | −£17.5k | £2.3k | £7.4k |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▼25.9% | ▼27.3% |
| Profit growth | — | — | ▲156.5% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▼32.1% | ▼20.9% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Net assets | — | — | — |
| Source | Accounts · bulk data Oct 2024 | Accounts · bulk data Oct 2024 | Accounts · bulk data Jan 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 2.2%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 7.9%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £332k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £7.4k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- —
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- —
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- —
- Now —
- Cash at bank
- —
- Now —
- Headcount
- ▼21%
- Now 272
- Deferred income
- —
- Now —
- Fixed assets
- —
- Now —
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Kairos 2025 Holdings Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- Cruden Holdings Limited75–100%
- Cruden Investments Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Subsidiaries (7)
- Baberton House Securities LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Baberton House Trustees LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Cruden Building Holdings LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Cruden Homes (Sales & Marketing) LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Cruden Homes Holdings LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Cruden Property Developments LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Cruden Property Investments LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Sources
Latest figures from accounts for the year to 31 Mar 2025 (profit £2m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Jan 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.