Skip to content
CompanySight
Company No. SC016295 · Incorporated 20 Jan 1931

James Pirie & Sons Limited

Registered name: JAMES PIRIE & SONS LIMITED

James Pirie & Sons Limited made £164k profit in the year to 31 Dec 2024 (revenue not disclosed).

James Pirie & Sons Limited reported £164k profit in the year to 31 Dec 2024, up 2344% on the year before; its revenue was not disclosed. It had 3 employees. The company is classified under “raising of dairy cattle” and is based in Argyll; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.

Profit onlySection A · Agriculture, forestry and fishingSIC 01410Raising of dairy cattle
Status
Active
Location
Argyll, Scotland
Age
95 yrs · since 1931
Type
Private Limited Company
Latest accounts · year to 31 Dec 2024

Key figures

IndependentSmall team
Revenue
—
Not disclosed in filing
Profit
£164k
Growth ▲2344%
Profit margin
—
 
Employees
3
Change 0%
Profit / employee
£54.5k
 
Profitable streak
2yrs
Consecutive profitable years in our data

This company published its profit but not its turnover, so revenue and margins are not disclosed. We never estimate them.

Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.

3 filed years

Financial history

Multi-year financials, oldest to newest
Year to31 Dec 202231 Dec 202331 Dec 2024
DisclosureNo P&LProfit onlyProfit only
Profit & loss
Revenue (turnover)———
Profit after tax—£6.7k£164k
Profit (best available)—£6.7k£164k
Employees (average)333
Ratios
Profit margin———
Profit per employee—£2.2k£54.5k
Growth (year on year)
Profit growth——▲2344%
Headcount growth—0%0%
Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue
Cash at bank£68.2k£64.4k£61.7k
Net assets£1m£927k£1m
Fixed assets£788k£812k£843k
Current assets£496k£369k£511k
Debtors£91k£65.8k£79.6k
SourceFullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2024FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2024FullAccounts · bulk data Sep 2025
Derived from the latest filing

How the business works

Profit margin
—
Profit ÷ revenue.
Gross margin
—
Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
Revenue per employee
—
Revenue ÷ average employees.
Profit per employee
£54.5k
Profit ÷ average employees.
Cash conversion
—
Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
Fixed assets ÷ revenue
—
Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
Deferred income ÷ revenue
—
Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
Debtors ÷ revenue
—
Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Indirect — not revenue

Balance-sheet signals

Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.

Net assets
▲12%
Now £1m
Cash at bank
▼4%
Now £61.7k
Headcount
0%
Now 3
Deferred income
—
Now —
Fixed assets
▲4%
Now £843k
Same industry, similar size

Similar profitable businesses

Industry benchmarks →

Sources

Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Dec 2024 (profit £164k), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Sep 2025. Spotted an error? Request a correction.

Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.