McKinstry Skip Hire Limited
Registered name: MCKINSTRY SKIP HIRE LIMITED
Part of Aldamar (NO.1) Limited groupMcKinstry Skip Hire Limited made £17.1m revenue and £419k profit in the year to 31 Mar 2025. read from filing text
McKinstry Skip Hire Limited’s revenue grew 1% to £17.1m in the year to 31 Mar 2025, with £419k profit and 130 employees. The company is classified under “recovery of sorted materials” and is based in Crumlin; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Crumlin, Northern Ireland
- Age
- 23 yrs · since 2003
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently. From the filing: “The ultimate parent company is”
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Mar 2023 | 31 Mar 2024 | 31 Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £17.9m | £17m | £17.1m |
| Cost of sales | £16.9m | £15.2m | £14.5m |
| Gross profit | £1m | £1.7m | £2.6m |
| Operating profit | −£761k | £365k | £747k |
| Profit before tax | −£878k | £209k | £604k |
| Profit after tax | −£776k | £128k | £419k |
| Profit (best available) | −£776k | £128k | £419k |
| Staff costs | £5.5m | £5.1m | £5.3m |
| Employees (average) | 109 | 101 | 130 |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | −4.3% | 0.8% | 2.5% |
| Gross margin | 5.6% | 10.2% | 15.3% |
| Revenue per employee | £165k | £168k | £132k |
| Profit per employee | −£7.1k | £1.3k | £3.2k |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▼5.5% | ▲0.9% |
| Profit growth | — | — | ▲226.7% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▼7.3% | ▲28.7% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Cash at bank | £294k | £526k | £1m |
| Net assets | £5m | £5.1m | £5.1m |
| Fixed assets | £7.3m | £6.3m | £8.6m |
| Current assets | £4.3m | £4.3m | £4.4m |
| Debtors | £2.3m | £2.4m | £2.2m |
| Deferred income | £257k | £551k | £867k |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2025 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 2.5%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 15.3%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £132k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £3.2k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 50.5%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 5.1%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 13%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▼1%
- Now £5.1m
- Cash at bank
- ▲96%
- Now £1m
- Headcount
- ▲29%
- Now 130
- Deferred income
- ▲57%
- Now £867k
- Fixed assets
- ▲38%
- Now £8.6m
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Aldamar (NO.1) Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- Aldamar Holdings Ltd75–100%
- McKinstry Skip Hire Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Sister companies (3)
- McKinstry Biomass LtdFigures not disclosed
- McKinstry Metal Recycling LimitedFigures not disclosed
- McKinstry Waste Services LtdFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Thanet Waste Services LimitedAshford · Recovery of sorted materials
- Revenue
- £17.3m
- Profit
- £161k
- Staff
- 111
- Southwark Metals LimitedLondon · Recovery of sorted materials
- Revenue
- £17.7m
- Profit
- £961k
- Staff
- 23
- General Demolition LimitedAscot · Recovery of sorted materials
- Revenue
- £17.8m
- Profit
- £432k
- Staff
- 22
- Roy Hatfield LimitedRotherham · Recovery of sorted materials
- Revenue
- £16m
- Profit
- £2.1m
- Staff
- 38
- Hensel Recycling (UK) LtdDunsfold · Recovery of sorted materials
- Revenue
- £15.5m
- Profit
- £11.2k
- Staff
- 7
- S L Recycling LimitedNew Inn · Recovery of sorted materials
- Revenue
- £15.2m
- Profit
- £285k
- Staff
- 32
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Mar 2025 (profit £419k), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Dec 2025. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.