A E Stuart Limited
Registered name: A E STUART LIMITED
A E Stuart Limited made £102m revenue and £4.3m profit in the year to 31 Mar 2025.
A E Stuart Limited’s revenue grew 22% to £102m in the year to 31 Mar 2025, with £4.3m profit and 282 employees. The company is classified under “activities of agricultural holding companies” and is based in Exeter; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Exeter, South West
- Age
- 6 yrs · since 2020
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Pass-through vehicle. This looks like a holding, staffing or umbrella company. Its revenue and profit may largely pass through to or from other entities, so the figures may not reflect a standalone operating business. It is excluded from our opportunity lists.
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Mar 2023 | 31 Mar 2024 | 31 Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £72.1m | £83.4m | £102m |
| Cost of sales | £52.4m | £61.6m | £81.6m |
| Gross profit | £19.7m | £21.9m | £20.2m |
| Operating profit | £9.6m | £9.4m | £10.6m |
| Profit before tax | £8.5m | £7.7m | £11.5m |
| Profit after tax | £4.2m | £3.9m | £4.3m |
| Profit (best available) | £4.2m | £3.9m | £4.3m |
| Staff costs | £9.3m | £11.4m | £12.6m |
| Employees (average) | 249 | 267 | 282 |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | 5.8% | 4.7% | 4.3% |
| Gross margin | 27.3% | 26.2% | 19.8% |
| Revenue per employee | £289k | £312k | £361k |
| Profit per employee | £16.8k | £14.5k | £15.4k |
| Cash conversion | 143.7% | 172.8% | 136.6% |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲15.8% | ▲22.1% |
| Profit growth | — | ▼7.3% | ▲11.9% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲7.2% | ▲5.6% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Cash at bank | £14.3m | £7m | £5.5m |
| Net assets | £52.3m | £55m | £58.4m |
| Fixed assets | £74.4m | £83.2m | £99.9m |
| Current assets | £38.8m | £55m | £34.6m |
| Debtors | £6.6m | £6.4m | £7.2m |
| Cash from operations | £13.7m | £16.3m | £14.5m |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2025 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 4.3%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 19.8%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £361k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £15.4k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- 136.6%
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 98.1%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 7.1%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▲6%
- Now £58.4m
- Cash at bank
- ▼22%
- Now £5.5m
- Headcount
- ▲6%
- Now 282
- Deferred income
- —
- Now —
- Fixed assets
- ▲20%
- Now £99.9m
Group structure
Subsidiaries (6)
- Stuarts Truck and Bus LimitedRev. £60.6m · Profit £2.5m
- Ems Waste Services LimitedRev. £26.1m · Profit £3.1m
- A E Stuart NO2 LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Brooke Energy Group LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Exeter Waste to Energy LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Stuart Partners LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Mar 2025 (profit £4.3m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Dec 2025. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.