ST Michael's Falmouth Limited
Registered name: ST MICHAEL'S FALMOUTH LIMITED
Part of Carpenter Hotels Limited groupST Michael's Falmouth Limited made £10.1m revenue and a £737k loss in the year to 31 Mar 2025. read from filing text
ST Michael's Falmouth Limited’s revenue grew 4% to £10.1m in the year to 31 Mar 2025, with a loss of £737k and 2 employees. The company is classified under “hotels and similar accommodation” and is based in Falmouth; we hold 4 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Falmouth, South West
- Age
- 9 yrs · since 2016
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Pass-through vehicle. This looks like a holding, staffing or umbrella company. Its revenue and profit may largely pass through to or from other entities, so the figures may not reflect a standalone operating business. It is excluded from our opportunity lists.
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently. From the filing: “There is no one individual who is the ultimate controlling party.”
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Mar 2022 | 31 Mar 2023 | 31 Mar 2024 | 31 Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text |
| Profit & loss | ||||
| Revenue (turnover) | £8.6m | £9m | £9.8m | £10.1m |
| Cost of sales | £4.1m | £4.8m | £5m | £5.4m |
| Gross profit | £4.5m | £4.2m | £4.8m | £4.8m |
| Operating profit | £1.2m | £628k | £219k | −£21.4k |
| Profit before tax | £681k | £121k | −£474k | −£737k |
| Profit after tax | £681k | £121k | −£474k | −£737k |
| Profit (best available) | £681k | £121k | −£474k | −£737k |
| Staff costs | £0 | £0 | £0 | £0 |
| Employees (average) | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 |
| Ratios | ||||
| Profit margin | 7.9% | 1.4% | −4.9% | −7.3% |
| Gross margin | 52.6% | 47.1% | 48.7% | 46.9% |
| Revenue per employee | £4.3m | £4.5m | £4.9m | £5.1m |
| Profit per employee | £340k | £60.6k | −£237k | −£369k |
| Cash conversion | −173.1% | −38.4% | −436% | — |
| Growth (year on year) | ||||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲4.9% | ▲8.4% | ▲3.9% |
| Profit growth | — | ▼82.2% | ▼491.1% | — |
| Headcount growth | — | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||||
| Cash at bank | £2.8m | £1.9m | £1m | £725k |
| Net assets | £5.4m | £4.8m | £3.9m | £4.1m |
| Fixed assets | £15.2m | £15.3m | £14.9m | £15.3m |
| Current assets | £3.7m | £2.4m | £1.5m | £1.5m |
| Debtors | £169k | £167k | £146k | £171k |
| Deferred income | £301k | £139k | £217k | £252k |
| Cash from operations | −£2.1m | −£241k | −£954k | −£592k |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2023 | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2023 | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2025 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- −7.3%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 46.9%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £5.1m
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- −£369k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 150.9%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 2.5%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 1.7%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▲3%
- Now £4.1m
- Cash at bank
- ▼30%
- Now £725k
- Headcount
- 0%
- Now 2
- Deferred income
- ▲16%
- Now £252k
- Fixed assets
- ▲3%
- Now £15.3m
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Carpenter Hotels Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- ST Michael's Falmouth Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Subsidiaries (2)
- ST Michael's Crew LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Tresillian House LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Forrest Hotels LimitedGlasgow · Hotels and similar accommodation
- Revenue
- £10.1m
- Profit
- £620k
- Staff
- 138
- Cygnet Properties and Leisure PLCPark Royal · Hotels and similar accommodation
- Revenue
- £10.3m
- Profit
- £4.4m
- Staff
- 30
- Christchurch Hotels LtdChristchurch · Hotels and similar accommodation
- Revenue
- £10.4m
- Profit
- £1.5m
- Staff
- 159
- Gateway Manchester Hotels LtdEdinburgh · Hotels and similar accommodation
- Revenue
- £9.9m
- Profit
- £72.3k
- Staff
- 148
- Prahi Hotel Collection LimitedMacclesfield · Hotels and similar accommodation
- Revenue
- £10.4m
- Profit
- £250k
- Staff
- 215
- Closegate Hotel Development (Durham) LimitedLeeds · Hotels and similar accommodation
- Revenue
- £9.8m
- Profit
- £1.8m
- Staff
- 107
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Mar 2025 (profit −£737k), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Dec 2025. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.