Ego Eyewear Limited
Registered name: EGO EYEWEAR LIMITED
Part of Inspecs Group PLC groupEgo Eyewear Limited made £8.9m revenue and a £903k loss in the year to 31 Dec 2024.
Ego Eyewear Limited’s revenue grew 1% to £8.9m in the year to 31 Dec 2024, with a loss of £903k and 0 employees. The company is classified under “non-specialised wholesale trade” and is based in Bath; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Bath, South West
- Age
- 12 yrs · since 2014
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Pass-through vehicle. This looks like a holding, staffing or umbrella company. Its revenue and profit may largely pass through to or from other entities, so the figures may not reflect a standalone operating business. It is excluded from our opportunity lists.
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently. From the filing: “Inspecs Limited”
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Dec 2022 | 31 Dec 2023 | 31 Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £8.9m | £8.8m | £8.9m |
| Cost of sales | £8.8m | £9.3m | £9m |
| Gross profit | £118k | −£451k | −£117k |
| Profit before tax | −£531k | −£1.1m | −£903k |
| Profit after tax | −£435k | −£1.1m | −£903k |
| Profit (best available) | −£435k | −£1.1m | −£903k |
| Employees (average) | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | −4.9% | −11.9% | −10.1% |
| Gross margin | 1.3% | −5.1% | −1.3% |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▼1.2% | ▲0.9% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Cash at bank | £2.4m | £678k | £638k |
| Net assets | £1.1m | £60.8k | −£842k |
| Fixed assets | £48.8k | £48.8k | — |
| Current assets | £4.3m | £5.7m | £4m |
| Debtors | £783k | £3.6m | £1.1m |
| Deferred income | — | £741k | £216k |
| Source | Accounts · bulk data May 2024 | Accounts · bulk data May 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data May 2025 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- −10.1%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- −1.3%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- —
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- —
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- —
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 2.4%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 12.7%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▼1484%
- Now −£842k
- Cash at bank
- ▼6%
- Now £638k
- Headcount
- —
- Now 0
- Deferred income
- ▼71%
- Now £216k
- Fixed assets
- —
- Now —
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Inspecs Group PLCultimate parent75–100%
- Inspecs Holdings Limited75–100%
- Inspecs Limited75–100%
- Ego Eyewear Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Sister companies (4)
- Norville (20/20) LimitedRev. £5.2m · Profit −£6.4m
- Eschenbach UK Holdings LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Hardy Amies LimitedFigures not disclosed
- International Eyewear LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- D S L Group (Nottingham) LimitedAnnesley, Nottingham · Non-specialised wholesale trade
- Revenue
- £8.9m
- Profit
- £498k
- Staff
- 64
- Challs International LimitedIpswich · Non-specialised wholesale trade
- Revenue
- £9m
- Profit
- £301k
- Staff
- 25
- Arden Winch & Co LimitedSouth Yorkshire · Non-specialised wholesale trade
- Revenue
- £8.8m
- Profit
- £302k
- Staff
- 54
- Hytek (GB) LimitedCoventry · Non-specialised wholesale trade
- Revenue
- £9.1m
- Profit
- £2.5m
- Staff
- 58
- Safety First Aid Group LimitedNorth Hertfordshire · Non-specialised wholesale trade
- Revenue
- £9.1m
- Profit
- £28.1k
- Staff
- 52
- L & M(Heating)supplies LimitedEnfield · Non-specialised wholesale trade
- Revenue
- £8.7m
- Profit
- £387k
- Staff
- 28
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Dec 2024 (profit −£903k), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published May 2025. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.