Mathys & Squire Services Ltd
Registered name: MATHYS & SQUIRE SERVICES LTD
Part of Mathys & Squire LLP groupMathys & Squire Services Ltd made £19.8m revenue and a £175k loss in the year to 31 Mar 2024.
Mathys & Squire Services Ltd’s revenue grew 10% to £19.8m in the year to 31 Mar 2024, with a loss of £175k and 166 employees. The company is classified under “human resources provision and management of human resources functions” and is based in London; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- London, London
- Age
- 12 yrs · since 2014
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Pass-through vehicle. This looks like a holding, staffing or umbrella company. Its revenue and profit may largely pass through to or from other entities, so the figures may not reflect a standalone operating business. It is excluded from our opportunity lists.
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently.
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Mar 2022 | 31 Mar 2023 | 31 Mar 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £16.5m | £18m | £19.8m |
| Cost of sales | £16m | £17.6m | £19.5m |
| Gross profit | £530k | £459k | £275k |
| Operating profit | £114k | £31.8k | −£174k |
| Profit before tax | £114k | £24.5k | −£175k |
| Profit after tax | £52.9k | £24.5k | −£175k |
| Profit (best available) | £52.9k | £24.5k | −£175k |
| Staff costs | £10.6m | £11.4m | £12.6m |
| Employees (average) | 158 | 156 | 166 |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | 0.3% | 0.1% | −0.9% |
| Gross margin | 3.2% | 2.5% | 1.4% |
| Revenue per employee | £105k | £116k | £119k |
| Profit per employee | £335 | £157 | −£1.1k |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲9.2% | ▲9.7% |
| Profit growth | — | ▼53.7% | ▼815.2% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▼1.3% | ▲6.4% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Cash at bank | £3.4k | £145k | £165k |
| Net assets | £58.9k | £83.4k | −£91.9k |
| Fixed assets | £1.8m | £1.6m | £1.4m |
| Current assets | £4.8m | £4.2m | £5.1m |
| Debtors | £0 | £68.8k | £209k |
| Deferred income | £3m | £3.1m | £2.9m |
| Source | Accounts · bulk data Mar 2024 | Accounts · bulk data Mar 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Mar 2025 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- −0.9%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 1.4%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £119k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- −£1.1k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 7.2%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 14.6%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 1.1%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▼210%
- Now −£91.9k
- Cash at bank
- ▲14%
- Now £165k
- Headcount
- ▲6%
- Now 166
- Deferred income
- ▼6%
- Now £2.9m
- Fixed assets
- ▼12%
- Now £1.4m
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Mathys & Squire LLPultimate parent75–100%
- Mathys & Squire Services Ltdthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Sister companies (2)
- JG Oppositions LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Mathys & Squire Consulting LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Mar 2024 (profit −£175k), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Mar 2025. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.