City Energy Network Limited
Registered name: CITY ENERGY NETWORK LIMITED
Part of New Dragon Holdco Ltd groupCity Energy Network Limited made £102m revenue and £19.8m profit in the year to 31 Jan 2023.
City Energy Network Limited’s revenue grew 94% to £102m in the year to 31 Jan 2023, with £19.8m profit and 109 employees. The company is classified under “other specialised construction activities” and is based in Pontypridd; we hold 2 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Pontypridd, Wales
- Age
- 14 yrs · since 2011
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Pass-through vehicle. This looks like a holding, staffing or umbrella company. Its revenue and profit may largely pass through to or from other entities, so the figures may not reflect a standalone operating business. It is excluded from our opportunity lists.
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently.
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Jan 2022 | 31 Jan 2023 |
|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | ||
| Revenue (turnover) | £52.6m | £102m |
| Cost of sales | £43.6m | £76.1m |
| Gross profit | £9.1m | £26.1m |
| Operating profit | £8.4m | £24.4m |
| Profit before tax | £8.4m | £24.4m |
| Profit after tax | £6.8m | £19.8m |
| Profit (best available) | £6.8m | £19.8m |
| Staff costs | £3.7m | £4.8m |
| Employees (average) | 92 | 109 |
| Ratios | ||
| Profit margin | 12.8% | 19.4% |
| Gross margin | 17.3% | 25.5% |
| Revenue per employee | £572k | £937k |
| Profit per employee | £73.5k | £182k |
| Growth (year on year) | ||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲94% |
| Profit growth | — | ▲192.5% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲18.5% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||
| Cash at bank | £6.8m | £19.6m |
| Net assets | £10.5m | £26.4m |
| Fixed assets | £63.3k | £42.6k |
| Current assets | £14m | £33.5m |
| Debtors | £2.9m | £3.5m |
| Deferred income | £13.1k | £14.6k |
| Source | Accounts · bulk data Jan 2024 | Accounts · bulk data Jan 2024 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 19.4%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 25.5%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £937k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £182k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 0%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 0%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 3.4%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▲153%
- Now £26.4m
- Cash at bank
- ▲187%
- Now £19.6m
- Headcount
- ▲18%
- Now 109
- Deferred income
- ▲11%
- Now £14.6k
- Fixed assets
- ▼33%
- Now £42.6k
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- New Dragon Holdco Ltdultimate parent75–100%
- New Dragon Midco Ltd75–100%
- City Energy Network Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Subsidiaries (1)
- City Energy Facilities Management LimitedFigures not disclosed
Sister companies (2)
- Heatforce (Wales) LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Laver Group LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Newwaves Solutions LimitedWeybridge · Other specialised construction activities n.e.c.
- Revenue
- £103m
- Profit
- £3.8m
- Staff
- 59
- Collins Construction LtdCroydon · Other specialised construction activities n.e.c.
- Revenue
- £108m
- Profit
- £1.3m
- Staff
- 141
- Edgewater Contracts & Specialist Joinery LtdToomebridge · Other specialised construction activities n.e.c.
- Revenue
- £110m
- Profit
- £3.5m
- Staff
- 93
- Knight Build LimitedBillericay · Other specialised construction activities n.e.c.
- Revenue
- £113m
- Profit
- £6.6m
- Staff
- 40
- MTX Contracts LimitedWilmslow · Other specialised construction activities n.e.c.
- Revenue
- £114m
- Profit
- £5.9m
- Staff
- 81
- Shannonside Civil Engineering LimitedRedditch · Other specialised construction activities n.e.c.
- Revenue
- £89.4m
- Profit
- £1.4m
- Staff
- 40
Sources
Latest figures from accounts for the year to 31 Jan 2023 (profit £19.8m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Jan 2024. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.