Alfred Homes Limited
Registered name: ALFRED HOMES LIMITED
Part of Alfred Group Holdings Limited groupAlfred Homes Limited made £7m revenue and £34k profit in the year to 31 Mar 2025. read from filing text
Alfred Homes Limited’s revenue fell 58% to £7m in the year to 31 Mar 2025, with £34k profit and 29 employees. The company is classified under “construction of domestic buildings” and is based in Winchester; we hold 4 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Winchester, South East
- Age
- 17 yrs · since 2009
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently. From the filing: “The ultimate controlling party is Alfred Group Holdings Limited, a company incorporated in England and Wales, which owns 100% of the issued share capital in the Company.”
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Mar 2022 | 31 Mar 2023 | 31 Mar 2024 | 31 Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text |
| Profit & loss | ||||
| Revenue (turnover) | £23.4m | £50m | £16.6m | £7m |
| Cost of sales | £16.4m | £40.5m | £16.5m | £6.9m |
| Gross profit | £7m | £9.5m | £81.5k | £117k |
| Operating profit | £5.3m | £7.3m | −£1.9m | −£1.7m |
| Profit before tax | £4m | £6.1m | −£1.6m | £78.3k |
| Profit after tax | £4m | £5.4m | −£1.4m | £34k |
| Profit (best available) | £4m | £5.4m | −£1.4m | £34k |
| Staff costs | £1.5m | £2m | £1.6m | £1.8m |
| Employees (average) | 21 | 25 | 27 | 29 |
| Ratios | ||||
| Profit margin | 17.2% | 10.8% | −8.2% | 0.5% |
| Gross margin | 29.9% | 19% | 0.5% | 1.7% |
| Revenue per employee | £1.1m | £2m | £615k | £243k |
| Profit per employee | £192k | £216k | −£50.1k | £1.2k |
| Growth (year on year) | ||||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲113.5% | ▼66.8% | ▼57.5% |
| Profit growth | — | ▲33.6% | ▼125.1% | — |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲19.1% | ▲8% | ▲7.4% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||||
| Cash at bank | £4.4m | £794k | £123k | £1.1m |
| Net assets | £5.1m | £10.5m | £9.1m | £9.1m |
| Fixed assets | £164k | £2.9m | £3.3m | £2.7m |
| Current assets | £27.6m | £11.6m | £9.7m | £22.6m |
| Debtors | £3.1k | £3.1k | £450 | £5.1k |
| Deferred income | £434k | £935k | £834k | £1.1m |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2023 | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2023 | FullAccounts · bulk data Sep 2025 | FullAccounts · bulk data Sep 2025 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 0.5%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 1.7%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £243k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £1.2k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 38.4%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 15.7%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 0.1%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▲0%
- Now £9.1m
- Cash at bank
- ▲805%
- Now £1.1m
- Headcount
- ▲7%
- Now 29
- Deferred income
- ▲33%
- Now £1.1m
- Fixed assets
- ▼18%
- Now £2.7m
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Alfred Group Holdings Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- Alfred Homes Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Subsidiaries (5)
- Alfred Homes Developments LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Langham Place Management Company LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Newlands Place Management Company LimitedFigures not disclosed
- The Barns at Church Farm LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Wickham Fields Management Company LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- P J Livesey Living Space (12) LimitedAltrincham · Construction of domestic buildings
- Revenue
- £7.4m
- Profit
- £395k
- Staff
- 6
- Russell Armer LimitedPenrith · Construction of domestic buildings
- Revenue
- £7.7m
- Profit
- £744k
- Staff
- 9
- HHT Development LimitedWidnes · Construction of domestic buildings
- Revenue
- £8.3m
- Profit
- £114k
- Staff
- —
- Morcom Construction LimitedCornwall · Construction of domestic buildings
- Revenue
- £8.5m
- Profit
- £260k
- Staff
- 74
- Edwards Homes LtdEwloe · Construction of domestic buildings
- Revenue
- £8.6m
- Profit
- £205k
- Staff
- 8
- Tulloch of Cummingston LimitedHopeman · Construction of domestic buildings
- Revenue
- £9m
- Profit
- £1.6m
- Staff
- 59
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Mar 2025 (profit £34k), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Sep 2025. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.