Caterham School
Registered name: CATERHAM SCHOOL
Caterham School made £48.8m revenue and £9.2m profit in the year to 31 Jul 2025.
Caterham School’s revenue grew 19% to £48.8m in the year to 31 Jul 2025, with £9.2m profit. The company is classified under “pre-primary education” and is based in Caterham; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Caterham, London
- Age
- 21 yrs · since 2005
- Type
- PRI/LBG/NSC (Private, Limited by guarantee, no share capital, use of 'Limited' exemption)
Non-profit. It is limited by guarantee (typically an association, club or management company), so it isn't run for profit. It is excluded from our opportunity lists.
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Jul 2023 | 31 Jul 2024 | 31 Jul 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £29.5m | £40.9m | £48.8m |
| Cost of sales | — | £32m | £39.6m |
| Gross profit | — | £8.8m | £9.2m |
| Operating profit | £4.1m | £8.8m | £9.2m |
| Profit before tax | £4.1m | £8.8m | £9.2m |
| Profit after tax | £4.1m | £8.8m | £9.2m |
| Profit (best available) | £4.1m | £8.8m | £9.2m |
| Employees (average) | 352 | 426 | — |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | 13.8% | 21.6% | 18.9% |
| Gross margin | — | 21.6% | 18.9% |
| Revenue per employee | £83.9k | £96k | — |
| Profit per employee | £11.6k | £20.8k | — |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲38.4% | ▲19.4% |
| Profit growth | — | ▲116.7% | ▲4.4% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲21% | — |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Net assets | — | — | — |
| Source | Accounts · bulk data Mar 2025 | Accounts · bulk data Mar 2025 | Accounts · bulk data Feb 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 18.9%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 18.9%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- —
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- —
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- —
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- —
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- —
- Now —
- Cash at bank
- —
- Now —
- Headcount
- —
- Now —
- Deferred income
- —
- Now —
- Fixed assets
- —
- Now —
Group structure
Subsidiaries (4)
- Hawthorns Educational Trust Limited (The)Rev. £8.4m · Profit £503k
- Caterham School International LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Copthorne School Trust LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Sphinx AI LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Busy Bees Day Nurseries (Trading) LimitedBurntwood · Pre-primary education
- Revenue
- £48.3m
- Profit
- £10.2m
- Staff
- 760
- Bellevue Education International LimitedLondon · Pre-primary education
- Revenue
- £60.5m
- Profit
- £647k
- Staff
- —
- Acs International Schools LimitedCobham Surrey · Pre-primary education
- Revenue
- £75.6m
- Profit
- £5.8m
- Staff
- 798
- Headington School Oxford LimitedOxford · Pre-primary education
- Revenue
- £28.8m
- Profit
- £2.7m
- Staff
- 422
- Benenden School (Kent) LimitedKent · Pre-primary education
- Revenue
- £28.2m
- Profit
- £1.8m
- Staff
- —
- Tasis UK LimitedSurrey · Pre-primary education
- Revenue
- £27.7m
- Profit
- £173k
- Staff
- 262
Sources
Latest figures from accounts for the year to 31 Jul 2025 (profit £9.2m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Feb 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.