Ableworld (UK) Limited
Registered name: ABLEWORLD (UK) LIMITED
Part of Ableworld Holdings (UK) Limited groupAbleworld (UK) Limited made £22.9m revenue and £469k profit in the year to 31 Aug 2025.
Ableworld (UK) Limited’s revenue grew 2% to £22.9m in the year to 31 Aug 2025, with £469k profit and 197 employees. The company is classified under “other retail sale of new goods in specialised stores (not commercial art galleries and opticians)” and is based in Stapeley; we hold 4 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Stapeley, North West
- Age
- 26 yrs · since 2000
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently. From the filing: “Ableworld Holdings (UK) Ltd”
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Aug 2022 | 31 Aug 2023 | 31 Aug 2024 | 31 Aug 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | ||||
| Revenue (turnover) | £15.2m | £20.2m | £22.4m | £22.9m |
| Cost of sales | £7.7m | £10.4m | £11.5m | £12.4m |
| Gross profit | £7.5m | £9.8m | £10.8m | £10.5m |
| Operating profit | — | −£94.3k | £240k | −£873k |
| Profit before tax | −£84.9k | −£83.1k | £71.8k | £336k |
| Profit after tax | −£59.3k | −£58.4k | −£44.1k | £469k |
| Profit (best available) | −£59.3k | −£58.4k | −£44.1k | £469k |
| Staff costs | £4m | £5m | £5.7m | £6.1m |
| Employees (average) | 166 | 188 | 198 | 197 |
| Ratios | ||||
| Profit margin | −0.4% | −0.3% | −0.2% | 2.1% |
| Gross margin | 49.5% | 48.5% | 48.4% | 45.8% |
| Revenue per employee | £91.8k | £107k | £113k | £116k |
| Profit per employee | −£357 | −£311 | −£223 | £2.4k |
| Growth (year on year) | ||||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲32.5% | ▲10.8% | ▲2.4% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲13.3% | ▲5.3% | ▼0.5% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||||
| Cash at bank | £743k | £524k | £491k | £395k |
| Net assets | £1.7m | £1.7m | £1.6m | £2.1m |
| Fixed assets | £2.2m | £2.2m | £1.8m | £1.5m |
| Current assets | £5.5m | £5.7m | £5.4m | £5m |
| Debtors | £58.4k | £20.7k | £82.7k | £14k |
| Deferred income | £292k | £325k | £336k | £451k |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data May 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data May 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data May 2025 | FullAccounts · bulk data May 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 2.1%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 45.8%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £116k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £2.4k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 6.4%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 2%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 0.1%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▲29%
- Now £2.1m
- Cash at bank
- ▼19%
- Now £395k
- Headcount
- ▼1%
- Now 197
- Deferred income
- ▲34%
- Now £451k
- Fixed assets
- ▼20%
- Now £1.5m
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Ableworld Holdings (UK) Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- Ableworld (UK) Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Sister companies (2)
- Ableworld Franchise LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Mobility Ventures LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Glyndebourne Enterprises LimitedLewes · Other retail sale of new goods in specialised stores (not commercial art galleries and opticians)
- Revenue
- £22.3m
- Profit
- £3.9m
- Staff
- 8
- West One Bathrooms LimitedChessington · Other retail sale of new goods in specialised stores (not commercial art galleries and opticians)
- Revenue
- £23.6m
- Profit
- £640k
- Staff
- 82
- Wholesale Domestic Equipment Company LimitedGlasgow · Other retail sale of new goods in specialised stores (not commercial art galleries and opticians)
- Revenue
- £22.1m
- Profit
- £1.6m
- Staff
- 107
- Merlin Cycles LimitedChorley · Other retail sale of new goods in specialised stores (not commercial art galleries and opticians)
- Revenue
- £22.1m
- Profit
- £3.4m
- Staff
- 39
- Newbank Garden Centre LimitedVillage, Royton · Other retail sale of new goods in specialised stores (not commercial art galleries and opticians)
- Revenue
- £23.9m
- Profit
- £377k
- Staff
- 188
- Evapo LtdLancashire · Other retail sale of new goods in specialised stores (not commercial art galleries and opticians)
- Revenue
- £21.7m
- Profit
- £947k
- Staff
- 234
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Aug 2025 (profit £469k), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published May 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.