Commodity Centre UK Limited
Registered name: COMMODITY CENTRE UK LIMITED
Part of Commodity Centre (Group) Limited groupCommodity Centre UK Limited made £13.2m revenue and £1.5m profit in the year to 31 Mar 2025.
Commodity Centre UK Limited’s revenue fell 15% to £13.2m in the year to 31 Mar 2025, with £1.5m profit and 47 employees. The company is classified under “operation of warehousing and storage facilities for land transport activities” and is based in Witham; we hold 4 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Witham, East of England
- Age
- 34 yrs · since 1992
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently.
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Mar 2022 | 31 Mar 2023 | 31 Mar 2024 | 31 Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | ||||
| Revenue (turnover) | £15.6m | £17.6m | £15.6m | £13.2m |
| Cost of sales | £13.3m | £15m | £12m | £8.7m |
| Gross profit | £2.3m | £2.6m | £3.6m | £4.5m |
| Operating profit | £89k | £59.4k | £170k | £1.7m |
| Profit before tax | £49.3k | £10.6k | £133k | £1.6m |
| Profit after tax | £49.3k | £54.3k | £133k | £1.5m |
| Profit (best available) | £49.3k | £54.3k | £133k | £1.5m |
| Staff costs | £2.1m | £2.5m | £2.3m | £2.2m |
| Employees (average) | 65 | 70 | 52 | 47 |
| Ratios | ||||
| Profit margin | 0.3% | 0.3% | 0.9% | 11.3% |
| Gross margin | 14.9% | 14.8% | 22.9% | 34.1% |
| Revenue per employee | £240k | £252k | £299k | £281k |
| Profit per employee | £758 | £775 | £2.6k | £31.7k |
| Growth (year on year) | ||||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲12.9% | ▼11.8% | ▼14.9% |
| Profit growth | — | ▲10.2% | ▲144.8% | ▲1020% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲7.7% | ▼25.7% | ▼9.6% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||||
| Cash at bank | £137k | £94.9k | £34.6k | £29.5k |
| Net assets | £332k | £187k | £120k | £308k |
| Fixed assets | £1.9m | £1.7m | £1.2m | £974k |
| Current assets | £7.5m | £3.3m | £3.1m | £3.1m |
| Debtors | £1.7m | £1.4m | £880k | £878k |
| Deferred income | £782k | £943k | £1.7m | £1.3m |
| Source | Accounts · bulk data Dec 2023 | Accounts · bulk data Dec 2023 | Accounts · bulk data Dec 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2025 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 11.3%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 34.1%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £281k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £31.7k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 7.4%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 9.5%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 6.6%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▲157%
- Now £308k
- Cash at bank
- ▼15%
- Now £29.5k
- Headcount
- ▼10%
- Now 47
- Deferred income
- ▼24%
- Now £1.3m
- Fixed assets
- ▼21%
- Now £974k
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Commodity Centre (Group) Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- Commodity Centre UK Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Sister companies (2)
- Commodity Centre LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Commodity Centre Osprey Holdings LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Americold Spalding LtdShropshire · Operation of warehousing and storage facilities for land transport activities
- Revenue
- £13m
- Profit
- £703k
- Staff
- 42
- Gba Technical Services LimitedGrimsby · Operation of warehousing and storage facilities for land transport activities
- Revenue
- £12.6m
- Profit
- £1.1m
- Staff
- 266
- Denvern LimitedDevon · Operation of warehousing and storage facilities for land transport activities
- Revenue
- £12.5m
- Profit
- £5.9m
- Staff
- 52
- Debach Enterprises LimitedIpswich · Operation of warehousing and storage facilities for land transport activities
- Revenue
- £12.4m
- Profit
- £1.2m
- Staff
- 79
- UK Storage Company (SW) LimitedBridgwater · Operation of warehousing and storage facilities for land transport activities
- Revenue
- £14.2m
- Profit
- £5m
- Staff
- 28
- Hallam Express LtdRotherham · Operation of warehousing and storage facilities for land transport activities
- Revenue
- £14.2m
- Profit
- £365k
- Staff
- 112
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Mar 2025 (profit £1.5m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Dec 2025. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.