South West Metal Finishing Limited
Registered name: SOUTH WEST METAL FINISHING LIMITED
Part of E.i.c. Group Limited groupSouth West Metal Finishing Limited made £12.7m revenue and £567k profit in the year to 31 Mar 2025.
South West Metal Finishing Limited’s revenue grew 33% to £12.7m in the year to 31 Mar 2025, with £567k profit and 171 employees. The company is classified under “treatment and coating of metals” and is based in Exeter; we hold 4 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Exeter, South West
- Age
- 38 yrs · since 1988
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently. From the filing: “E.I.C. (Exeter) Limited”
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Mar 2022 | 31 Mar 2023 | 31 Mar 2024 | 31 Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | ||||
| Revenue (turnover) | £5.8m | £6.6m | £9.6m | £12.7m |
| Cost of sales | £3.7m | £4m | £5.4m | £7m |
| Gross profit | £2.1m | £2.6m | £4.2m | £5.8m |
| Operating profit | −£246k | −£376k | £263k | £731k |
| Profit before tax | −£286k | −£440k | £158k | £614k |
| Profit after tax | −£378k | −£414k | £83k | £567k |
| Profit (best available) | −£378k | −£414k | £83k | £567k |
| Staff costs | £3.8m | £4.2m | £5.3m | £6.3m |
| Employees (average) | 140 | 139 | 159 | 171 |
| Ratios | ||||
| Profit margin | −6.6% | −6.3% | 0.9% | 4.5% |
| Gross margin | 35.7% | 39% | 43.9% | 45.3% |
| Revenue per employee | £41.1k | £47.7k | £60.1k | £74.4k |
| Profit per employee | −£2.7k | −£3k | £522 | £3.3k |
| Growth (year on year) | ||||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲15.1% | ▲44.2% | ▲33.1% |
| Profit growth | — | — | — | ▲582.9% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▼0.7% | ▲14.4% | ▲7.5% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||||
| Cash at bank | £223k | £126k | £427k | £237k |
| Net assets | £3.7m | £3.3m | £3.4m | £3.9m |
| Fixed assets | £2.6m | £2.8m | £3.6m | £3.8m |
| Current assets | £4m | £3.6m | £4.5m | £4.8m |
| Debtors | £1.4m | £1.3m | £1.5m | £2.1m |
| Deferred income | £99.9k | £102k | £755k | £690k |
| Source | Accounts · bulk data Dec 2023 | Accounts · bulk data Dec 2023 | Accounts · bulk data Dec 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2025 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 4.5%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 45.3%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £74.4k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £3.3k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 29.7%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 5.4%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 16.8%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▲17%
- Now £3.9m
- Cash at bank
- ▼45%
- Now £237k
- Headcount
- ▲8%
- Now 171
- Deferred income
- ▼9%
- Now £690k
- Fixed assets
- ▲6%
- Now £3.8m
Group structure
Ownership chain
- E.i.c. Group Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- E.i.c.(Exeter)limited75–100%
- South West Metal Finishing Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Sister companies (2)
- Revill Industrial Finishes LimitedFigures not disclosed
- South West Metal Finishing Chippenham LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Wallwork Heat Treatment LimitedLancashire · Treatment and coating of metals
- Revenue
- £12.4m
- Profit
- £1.2m
- Staff
- 106
- Greenkote LimitedLondon · Treatment and coating of metals
- Revenue
- £12.2m
- Profit
- £123k
- Staff
- —
- Hereford Galvanizers LimitedHerefordshire · Treatment and coating of metals
- Revenue
- £13.6m
- Profit
- £1.3m
- Staff
- 115
- Eblast LimitedAberdeenshire · Treatment and coating of metals
- Revenue
- £11.2m
- Profit
- £3.1m
- Staff
- 77
- Steelstrip Services LimitedDudley · Treatment and coating of metals
- Revenue
- £10.3m
- Profit
- £178k
- Staff
- 88
- Silverwood Enterprise LimitedCraigavon · Treatment and coating of metals
- Revenue
- £10.2m
- Profit
- £632k
- Staff
- 55
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Mar 2025 (profit £567k), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Dec 2025. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.