Clogau Gold of Wales Limited
Registered name: CLOGAU GOLD OF WALES LIMITED
Part of Clogau Holdings Limited groupClogau Gold of Wales Limited made £20m revenue and £2m profit in the year to 30 Sep 2025. read from filing text
Clogau Gold of Wales Limited’s revenue grew 1% to £20m in the year to 30 Sep 2025, with £2m profit and 122 employees. The company is classified under “wholesale of watches and jewellery” and is based in Rhyl; we hold 4 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Rhyl, Wales
- Age
- 39 yrs · since 1987
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently. From the filing: “The parent company is Clogau Holdings Limited who own 100% of the shares in Clogau Gold of Wales Limited.”
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 30 Sep 2022 | 30 Sep 2023 | 30 Sep 2024 | 30 Sep 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text |
| Profit & loss | ||||
| Revenue (turnover) | £23m | £21.7m | £19.8m | £20m |
| Cost of sales | £8.4m | £8.7m | £6.9m | £7.3m |
| Gross profit | £14.5m | £13m | £12.9m | £12.7m |
| Operating profit | £4.9m | £2.8m | £1.5m | £2.6m |
| Profit before tax | £5m | £2.8m | £1.5m | £2.5m |
| Profit after tax | £4.1m | £2.3m | £1.2m | £2m |
| Profit (best available) | £4.1m | £2.3m | £1.2m | £2m |
| Staff costs | £3.1m | £3.3m | £3.4m | £3.5m |
| Employees (average) | 118 | 128 | 137 | 122 |
| Ratios | ||||
| Profit margin | 18.1% | 10.8% | 6.2% | 9.8% |
| Gross margin | 63.3% | 59.9% | 65.3% | 63.5% |
| Revenue per employee | £195k | £169k | £144k | £164k |
| Profit per employee | £35.2k | £18.2k | £8.9k | £16k |
| Growth (year on year) | ||||
| Revenue growth | — | ▼5.6% | ▼8.7% | ▲1.2% |
| Profit growth | — | ▼43.9% | ▼47.8% | ▲61.1% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲8.5% | ▲7% | ▼10.9% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||||
| Cash at bank | £504k | £389k | £427k | £746k |
| Net assets | £10.2m | £9.5m | £8.2m | £7.7m |
| Fixed assets | £3.3m | £3.4m | £2.9m | £2.9m |
| Current assets | £12.5m | £9.8m | £8.3m | £7.3m |
| Debtors | £1.7m | £1.2m | £1m | £789k |
| Deferred income | £448k | £631k | £307k | £173k |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Jun 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Jun 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Jun 2025 | FullAccounts · bulk data May 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 9.8%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 63.5%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £164k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £16k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 14.3%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 0.9%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 4%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▼6%
- Now £7.7m
- Cash at bank
- ▲75%
- Now £746k
- Headcount
- ▼11%
- Now 122
- Deferred income
- ▼44%
- Now £173k
- Fixed assets
- ▼1%
- Now £2.9m
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Clogau Holdings Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- Clogau Gold of Wales Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Subsidiaries (4)
- CG Cardiff LimitedFigures not disclosed
- CG Swansea LimitedFigures not disclosed
- CG Wrexham LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Clogau ST. David's Gold Mines LimitedFigures not disclosed
Sister companies (1)
- Sherbrooke Trading LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Zeon LimitedLondon · Wholesale of watches and jewellery
- Revenue
- £15.3m
- Profit
- £1.3m
- Staff
- 31
- Peers Hardy (UK) LimitedSolihull · Wholesale of watches and jewellery
- Revenue
- £33.3m
- Profit
- £666k
- Staff
- 88
- Emdico (London) LimitedLondon · Wholesale of watches and jewellery
- Revenue
- £11.3m
- Profit
- £174k
- Staff
- 13
- Henig Diamonds LimitedLondon · Wholesale of watches and jewellery
- Revenue
- £11.2m
- Profit
- £227k
- Staff
- 29
- Euro Date LimitedLondon · Wholesale of watches and jewellery
- Revenue
- £9.9m
- Profit
- £3m
- Staff
- 9
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 30 Sep 2025 (profit £2m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published May 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.