Helical Technology Ltd.
Registered name: HELICAL TECHNOLOGY LTD.
Part of Helical Industries Ltd. groupHelical Technology Ltd. made £29.6m revenue and £356k profit in the year to 31 Dec 2024. read from filing text
Helical Technology Ltd.’s revenue fell 8% to £29.6m in the year to 31 Dec 2024, with £356k profit and 230 employees. The company is classified under “machining” and is based in Lytham; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Lytham, North West
- Age
- 47 yrs · since 1979
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently. From the filing: “The ultimate parent company is Helical Industries Ltd, a company incorporated in England and Wales.”
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Dec 2022 | 31 Dec 2023 | 31 Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £33.1m | £32.2m | £29.6m |
| Cost of sales | £19.8m | £19.4m | £18.1m |
| Gross profit | £13.4m | £12.8m | £11.5m |
| Operating profit | £3m | £1.2m | £506k |
| Profit before tax | £2.8m | £1.1m | £354k |
| Profit after tax | £2.8m | £1.1m | £356k |
| Profit (best available) | £2.8m | £1.1m | £356k |
| Staff costs | — | £7.5m | £7.2m |
| Employees (average) | 232 | 246 | 230 |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | 8.3% | 3.5% | 1.2% |
| Gross margin | 40.4% | 39.6% | 38.8% |
| Revenue per employee | £143k | £131k | £129k |
| Profit per employee | £11.9k | £4.6k | £1.5k |
| Cash conversion | — | 54.1% | −69.8% |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▼3% | ▼7.9% |
| Profit growth | — | ▼59% | ▼68.6% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲6% | ▼6.5% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Cash at bank | £9m | £7.2m | £5.4m |
| Net assets | £22.3m | £22.2m | £21.5m |
| Fixed assets | £8m | £7.9m | £7.2m |
| Current assets | £22.3m | £22.4m | £21.7m |
| Debtors | £5.5m | £4.4m | £4.5m |
| Deferred income | £363k | £383k | £577k |
| Cash from operations | — | £663k | −£353k |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Sep 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Sep 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Sep 2025 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 1.2%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 38.8%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £129k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £1.5k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- −69.8%
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 24.4%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 1.9%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 15.1%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▼3%
- Now £21.5m
- Cash at bank
- ▼25%
- Now £5.4m
- Headcount
- ▼7%
- Now 230
- Deferred income
- ▲51%
- Now £577k
- Fixed assets
- ▼8%
- Now £7.2m
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Helical Industries Ltd.ultimate parent75–100%
- Helical Technology Ltd.this company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Subsidiaries (1)
- Helical Couplings LimitedFigures not disclosed
Sister companies (1)
- Helical Diesel Technologies LtdFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- The West Group (Fluid Power) LimitedPortsmouth · Machining
- Revenue
- £29.9m
- Profit
- £686k
- Staff
- 183
- Progressive Technology LimitedNewbury · Machining
- Revenue
- £31.2m
- Profit
- £2.5m
- Staff
- 249
- Shield Engineering (Syston) LimitedSyston · Machining
- Revenue
- £31.7m
- Profit
- £2.7m
- Staff
- 136
- McBraida PLCBristol · Machining
- Revenue
- £31.8m
- Profit
- £3.2m
- Staff
- 152
- Hydac Technology LimitedBuckinghamshire · Machining
- Revenue
- £33.2m
- Profit
- £22.2m
- Staff
- 158
- Teescraft Engineering LimitedBishop Auckland · Machining
- Revenue
- £34.2m
- Profit
- £3.4m
- Staff
- 217
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Dec 2024 (profit £356k), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Sep 2025. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.