Crown Oil Limited
Registered name: CROWN OIL LIMITED
Part of Crown Oil Holdings Limited groupCrown Oil Limited made £452m revenue and £16.9m profit in the year to 31 Jul 2025. read from filing text
Crown Oil Limited’s revenue grew 16% to £452m in the year to 31 Jul 2025, with £16.9m profit and 240 employees. The company is classified under “agents involved in the sale of fuels, ores, metals and industrial chemicals” and is based in Heap Bridge; we hold 4 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Heap Bridge, North West
- Age
- 49 yrs · since 1977
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently. From the filing: “The directors consider the immediate parent undertaking to be Crown Oil Holdings Limited, a company registered in England and Wales. In the prior year, the company was the ultimate parent of the group”
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Jul 2022 | 31 Jul 2023 | 31 Jul 2024 | 31 Jul 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text |
| Profit & loss | ||||
| Revenue (turnover) | £429m | £423m | £391m | £452m |
| Cost of sales | £388m | £385m | £349m | £401m |
| Gross profit | £40.5m | £38.1m | £41.3m | £51.4m |
| Operating profit | £20.5m | £17.6m | £17.6m | £23.4m |
| Profit before tax | £23.2m | £18.6m | £17.3m | £22.5m |
| Profit after tax | £19.2m | £14.5m | £12.9m | £16.9m |
| Profit (best available) | £19.2m | £14.5m | £12.9m | £16.9m |
| Staff costs | £8.7m | £9.2m | £10.5m | £13.2m |
| Employees (average) | 195 | 212 | 226 | 240 |
| Ratios | ||||
| Profit margin | 4.5% | 3.4% | 3.3% | 3.7% |
| Gross margin | 9.4% | 9% | 10.6% | 11.4% |
| Revenue per employee | £2.2m | £2m | £1.7m | £1.9m |
| Profit per employee | £98.2k | £68.5k | £57k | £70.2k |
| Growth (year on year) | ||||
| Revenue growth | — | ▼1.4% | ▼7.6% | ▲15.8% |
| Profit growth | — | ▼24.2% | ▼11.4% | ▲30.9% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲8.7% | ▲6.6% | ▲6.2% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||||
| Cash at bank | £5.7m | £16m | £10.5m | £4m |
| Net assets | £26.6m | £26.7m | £29.1m | £40m |
| Fixed assets | £6.2m | £8.1m | £8.3m | £8.5m |
| Current assets | £104m | £113m | £98.5m | £128m |
| Debtors | £34.9m | £19.5m | £31.2m | £46.7m |
| Deferred income | £19.4m | £16.7m | £16.4m | £17.9m |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2023 | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2023 | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2025 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 3.7%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 11.4%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £1.9m
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £70.2k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 1.9%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 4%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 10.3%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▲37%
- Now £40m
- Cash at bank
- ▼62%
- Now £4m
- Headcount
- ▲6%
- Now 240
- Deferred income
- ▲9%
- Now £17.9m
- Fixed assets
- ▲3%
- Now £8.5m
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Crown Oil Holdings Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- Crown Oil Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Sister companies (6)
- Speedy Fuels LimitedRev. £124m · Profit £1.9m
- Beesley Fuels LtdRev. £43.1m · Profit £2.2m
- Nationwide Fuels and Lubricants LtdRev. £15.2m · Profit £207k
- Crown Oil (Environmental) LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Crown Oil Treasury LtdFigures not disclosed
- Samuel Cooke & Co LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Standard Fuel Oils LimitedLiverpool · Agents involved in the sale of fuels, ores, metals and industrial chemicals
- Revenue
- £267m
- Profit
- £10.8m
- Staff
- 60
- Lindsay Blee & Co. LimitedHenley-on-Thames · Agents involved in the sale of fuels, ores, metals and industrial chemicals
- Revenue
- £198m
- Profit
- £2.5m
- Staff
- 20
- LCC Group LimitedCo Tyrone · Agents involved in the sale of fuels, ores, metals and industrial chemicals
- Revenue
- £1.1bn
- Profit
- £26.2m
- Staff
- 272
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Jul 2025 (profit £16.9m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Dec 2025. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.