P.F. Ahern & Sons Limited
Registered name: P.F. AHERN & SONS LIMITED
P.F. Ahern & Sons Limited made £18.8m revenue and a £2.5m loss in the year to 31 Oct 2025.
P.F. Ahern & Sons Limited’s revenue grew 12% to £18.8m in the year to 31 Oct 2025, with a loss of £2.5m and 71 employees. The company is classified under “activities of head offices” and is based in Woodford Green; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Woodford Green, London
- Age
- 51 yrs · since 1975
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Pass-through vehicle. This looks like a holding, staffing or umbrella company. Its revenue and profit may largely pass through to or from other entities, so the figures may not reflect a standalone operating business. It is excluded from our opportunity lists.
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Oct 2023 | 31 Oct 2024 | 31 Oct 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £14.8m | £16.8m | £18.8m |
| Cost of sales | −£11.3m | −£12.7m | −£14.6m |
| Gross profit | £3.5m | £4.1m | £4.2m |
| Operating profit | £1.1m | £1.2m | £1.1m |
| Profit before tax | £2m | £3.5m | −£3m |
| Profit after tax | −£719k | £2m | −£2.5m |
| Profit (best available) | −£719k | £2m | −£2.5m |
| Employees (average) | — | 70 | 71 |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | −4.9% | 11.8% | −13.3% |
| Gross margin | 23.7% | 24.4% | 22.4% |
| Revenue per employee | — | £240k | £264k |
| Profit per employee | — | £28.3k | −£35.3k |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▲13.4% | ▲11.7% |
| Profit growth | — | — | ▼226.3% |
| Headcount growth | — | — | ▲1.4% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Net assets | — | — | — |
| Source | Accounts · bulk data Aug 2025 | Accounts · bulk data Aug 2025 | Accounts · bulk data Sep 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- −13.3%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 22.4%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £264k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- −£35.3k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- —
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- —
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- —
- Now —
- Cash at bank
- —
- Now —
- Headcount
- ▲1%
- Now 71
- Deferred income
- —
- Now —
- Fixed assets
- —
- Now —
Group structure
Subsidiaries (6)
- P.F. Ahern (London) LimitedRev. £16.8m · Profit £35k
- Ahern Land Reclamation LimitedRev. £75k · Profit £4.1k
- Ahern Asbestos Services LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Ahern Hazardous Waste Services LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Ahern Skips LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Ahern Waste Management Services LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Sources
Latest figures from accounts for the year to 31 Oct 2025 (profit −£2.5m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Sep 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.