G. Modiano Limited
Registered name: G. MODIANO LIMITED
G. Modiano Limited made £113m revenue and £2m profit in the year to 31 Mar 2026.
G. Modiano Limited’s revenue grew 4% to £113m in the year to 31 Mar 2026, with £2m profit and 271 employees. The company is classified under “preparation and spinning of textile fibres” and is based in London; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- London, London
- Age
- 60 yrs · since 1966
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Mar 2024 | 31 Mar 2025 | 31 Mar 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £124m | £108m | £113m |
| Cost of sales | −£115m | −£98.1m | −£107m |
| Gross profit | £9m | £10.1m | £5.6m |
| Operating profit | £4.8m | £5.6m | £1.5m |
| Profit before tax | £7.2m | £7.6m | £2.6m |
| Profit after tax | £5.9m | £5.9m | £2m |
| Profit (best available) | £5.9m | £5.9m | £2m |
| Employees (average) | 249 | 245 | 271 |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | 4.8% | 5.5% | 1.8% |
| Gross margin | 7.3% | 9.4% | 5% |
| Revenue per employee | £497k | £442k | £416k |
| Profit per employee | £23.8k | £24.1k | £7.3k |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▼12.6% | ▲4.2% |
| Profit growth | — | ▼0.4% | ▼66.3% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▼1.6% | ▲10.6% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Net assets | — | — | — |
| Source | Accounts · bulk data Dec 2025 | Accounts · bulk data Dec 2025 | Accounts · bulk data Sep 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 1.8%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 5%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £416k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £7.3k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- —
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- —
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- —
- Now —
- Cash at bank
- —
- Now —
- Headcount
- ▲11%
- Now 271
- Deferred income
- —
- Now —
- Fixed assets
- —
- Now —
Group structure
Subsidiaries (3)
- G. Modiano (Wool & Hair) LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Henry Firth & Son LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Lyndale Wools LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Sources
Latest figures from accounts for the year to 31 Mar 2026 (profit £2m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Sep 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.