Harwin PLC
Registered name: HARWIN PLC
Harwin PLC made £77.9m revenue and £15.5m profit in the year to 31 Mar 2026.
Harwin PLC’s revenue grew 32% to £77.9m in the year to 31 Mar 2026, with £15.5m profit and 334 employees. The company is classified under “manufacture of electronic components” and is based in Portsmouth; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Portsmouth, South East
- Age
- 74 yrs · since 1952
- Type
- Public Limited Company
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Mar 2024 | 31 Mar 2025 | 31 Mar 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £60.7m | £59.2m | £77.9m |
| Cost of sales | −£30.4m | −£31.8m | −£41.9m |
| Gross profit | £30.4m | £27.4m | £36.1m |
| Operating profit | £14.2m | £9.9m | £19.6m |
| Profit before tax | £14.4m | £10.2m | £19.6m |
| Profit after tax | £10.5m | £8.3m | £15.5m |
| Profit (best available) | £10.5m | £8.3m | £15.5m |
| Employees (average) | 296 | 316 | 334 |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | 17.4% | 14.1% | 19.9% |
| Gross margin | 50% | 46.3% | 46.3% |
| Revenue per employee | £205k | £187k | £233k |
| Profit per employee | £35.6k | £26.4k | £46.5k |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▼2.6% | ▲31.7% |
| Profit growth | — | ▼21% | ▲86.3% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲6.8% | ▲5.7% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Net assets | — | — | — |
| Source | Accounts · bulk data Sep 2025 | Accounts · bulk data Sep 2025 | Accounts · bulk data Sep 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 19.9%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 46.3%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £233k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £46.5k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- —
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- —
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- —
- Now —
- Cash at bank
- —
- Now —
- Headcount
- ▲6%
- Now 334
- Deferred income
- —
- Now —
- Fixed assets
- —
- Now —
Group structure
Subsidiaries (2)
- Harwin Technology Company LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Kec LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Huber + Suhner (UK) LimitedOxon · Manufacture of electronic components
- Revenue
- £76.3m
- Profit
- £589k
- Staff
- 105
- Spellman High Voltage Electronics Limited.Pulborough · Manufacture of electronic components
- Revenue
- £44.9m
- Profit
- £4.8m
- Staff
- 209
- Pektron Group LimitedDerby · Manufacture of electronic components
- Revenue
- £42.5m
- Profit
- £2.6m
- Staff
- 289
- Axis Electronics LimitedMilton Keynes · Manufacture of electronic components
- Revenue
- £41.9m
- Profit
- £7m
- Staff
- 196
- Micross Components LimitedNorwich · Manufacture of electronic components
- Revenue
- £41.5m
- Profit
- £13.8m
- Staff
- 130
- Albright International LimitedWhitchurch · Manufacture of electronic components
- Revenue
- £35.4m
- Profit
- £683k
- Staff
- 157
Sources
Latest figures from accounts for the year to 31 Mar 2026 (profit £15.5m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Sep 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.