Muntons PLC
Registered name: MUNTONS PLC
Part of Muntons (Holdings) PLC groupMuntons PLC made £137m revenue and £1.9m profit in the year to 3 Jan 2026.
Muntons PLC’s revenue fell 11% to £137m in the year to 3 Jan 2026, with £1.9m profit and 376 employees. The company is classified under “manufacture of malt” and is based in Suffolk; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Suffolk, East of England
- Age
- 105 yrs · since 1921
- Type
- Public Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently.
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 28 Dec 2023 | 28 Dec 2024 | 3 Jan 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&L |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £178m | £155m | £137m |
| Cost of sales | −£137m | −£118m | −£109m |
| Gross profit | £40.8m | £36.1m | £28.1m |
| Operating profit | £12.9m | £13.2m | £6.5m |
| Profit before tax | £8.5m | £9.2m | £2.8m |
| Profit after tax | £6.5m | £7.3m | £1.9m |
| Profit (best available) | £6.5m | £7.3m | £1.9m |
| Employees (average) | 376 | 377 | 376 |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | 3.7% | 4.7% | 1.4% |
| Gross margin | 22.9% | 23.3% | 20.5% |
| Revenue per employee | £473k | £410k | £365k |
| Profit per employee | £17.4k | £19.4k | £5.1k |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▼13.1% | ▼11.3% |
| Profit growth | — | ▲11.9% | ▼73.5% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲0.3% | ▼0.3% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Net assets | — | — | — |
| Source | Accounts · bulk data Jun 2025 | Accounts · bulk data Jun 2025 | Accounts · bulk data Jun 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 1.4%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 20.5%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £365k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £5.1k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- —
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- —
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- —
- Now —
- Cash at bank
- —
- Now —
- Headcount
- ▼0%
- Now 376
- Deferred income
- —
- Now —
- Fixed assets
- —
- Now —
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Muntons (Holdings) PLCultimate parent75–100%
- Muntons PLCthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Subsidiaries (4)
- Muntons Malt Supply Chain LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Muntons Pension Trustees LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Scotmalt LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Scotmalt Trading LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Sources
Latest figures from accounts for the year to 3 Jan 2026 (profit £1.9m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Jun 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.